Papa Felico's Garlic Sausage Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This was AWESOME.... A few reviewerssaid that they couldn't keep the toppings on the bread... I bought the wider italian bread, and scooped out some of the bread to make room for the fillings.. It was SOOOOooooo good... Pleased even the toughest palates.. And the Hot Sausage.. Not a big deal.. I bought the premio links, and decased them.. and just fried it up like chop meat.. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Oh my goodness, this is amazingly good!!! i'm giving this five stars despite the fact that i made a couple of changes, but it's just because i'm sure it would be delicious as it is stated. I first broiled the bread for 2-3 minutes. Ok, i know this totally modifies the recipe, but i had to use hot dogs instead of hot italian sausage 'cause that's what i had on hand, but next time i'm using the hot sausage. Forgot about the black olives and increased the amount of dried oregano to 1/2 teaspoon. Also omitted the olive oil 'cause i wanted to reduce the fats, and i'll tell you i didn't miss it. We had this for dinner yesterday night and we're still raving..... Thank you thank you thank you Diane, your papa is a genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
We used sweet italian sausage with the casing removed instead of the hot bulk pork and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I really like this. Very simple to prepare and delicious. Also very filling. I was going to eat this with salad, but the salad is on the bread! I was a bit flaky when I shopped for the ingredients, as I ended up with fresh mozzarella instead of slices and regular sausage instead of hot. I also ended up with green olives with pimentos, and looking back at the recipe, I suppose it calls for just green olives. Anyway, I really like the combo of flavors in this and am already thinking about how to make it less messy. It's kind of like an overtopped pizza or overstuffed sandwich--you can eat it with your fingers, but everything keeps falling off. I like everything on this bread, and I think you really have to, because there are a lot of strong flavors! I like how it all goes together, and I think that it would be wonderful to sub tapenade for the olives and toast the bread first so that you could put the tapenade, the olive oil and balsamic sauce, then the sausage and the remainder of the ingredients. I think it might make it a bit less messy and manageable. Of course, part of it was my fault since I used fresh mozzarella and sliced it thicker than what purchased slices would be. Still, the bread had a nice crunch on the bottom and I liked all the flavors together. I tossed on some diced orange bell pepper I had to use it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This recipe is fantastic. I don't normally review recipes, but I just had to with this one. I don't think I've ever had such a tasty meal. I did have to modify a few things. I didn't have bulk sausage, so I took the casing off the hot italian sausage I did have. I used Hunt's canned petite diced tomatoes and they really added a lot of juice to it. I also used minced garlic from a big jar I had. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Delicious! Used a wide Vienna bread loaf, sliced down the middle. Made two versions--per the recipe for my hubby and me, and with bacon and no olives for the kids. Yum! The balsamic dressing really made it something special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
My daughter and myself made this last night and it was delicious. Having leftovers for lunch right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I took this to an appetizer get together and it was a huge success! The mixture that you drizzle over it added soooo much flavor. I used roma tomatoes and cut slices thin. I also served the olives on the side for two reasons. I have friends that do not like them and they kept falling off the bread. My mistake was buying bread that was much too large. I ended up cutting it into 4 lengthwise pieces. I will definitely make it again with different bread. It would be great on flatbread as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Absolutely fantastic! I, like the others, will try to find a way to make it less messy so that I can justify serving it as an appetizer. I can't not share this wonderful recipe with as many people as I know. I may consider making a pizza dough from scratch and just piling all the ingredients on the dough like a calzone. Maybe cut back a little on the toppings. Other than that I can't tarnish this one by taking any ingredient away...Thanks for the amazing recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I didn't even have all the ingredients to put this together but if what I managed is only part of the flavor, this is going to be really delicious when I can do it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States