Papa Felico's Garlic Sausage Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I really like this. Very simple to prepare and delicious. Also very filling. I was going to eat this with salad, but the salad is on the bread! I was a bit flaky when I shopped for the ingredients, as I ended up with fresh mozzarella instead of slices and regular sausage instead of hot. I also ended up with green olives with pimentos, and looking back at the recipe, I suppose it calls for just green olives. Anyway, I really like the combo of flavors in this and am already thinking about how to make it less messy. It's kind of like an overtopped pizza or overstuffed sandwich--you can eat it with your fingers, but everything keeps falling off. I like everything on this bread, and I think you really have to, because there are a lot of strong flavors! I like how it all goes together, and I think that it would be wonderful to sub tapenade for the olives and toast the bread first so that you could put the tapenade, the olive oil and balsamic sauce, then the sausage and the remainder of the ingredients. I think it might make it a bit less messy and manageable. Of course, part of it was my fault since I used fresh mozzarella and sliced it thicker than what purchased slices would be. Still, the bread had a nice crunch on the bottom and I liked all the flavors together. I tossed on some diced orange bell pepper I had to use it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I made this for an italian party along with the tomato basil bread also posted on this site and everyone loved this one also. Instead of Italian bread I used garlic bread and tosted it. The only thing I had trouble with was keeping the olives on I think I had too much sausage on the bread. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE BULANDA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This was AWESOME.... A few reviewerssaid that they couldn't keep the toppings on the bread... I bought the wider italian bread, and scooped out some of the bread to make room for the fillings.. It was SOOOOooooo good... Pleased even the toughest palates.. And the Hot Sausage.. Not a big deal.. I bought the premio links, and decased them.. and just fried it up like chop meat.. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Oh my goodness, this is amazingly good!!! i'm giving this five stars despite the fact that i made a couple of changes, but it's just because i'm sure it would be delicious as it is stated. I first broiled the bread for 2-3 minutes. Ok, i know this totally modifies the recipe, but i had to use hot dogs instead of hot italian sausage 'cause that's what i had on hand, but next time i'm using the hot sausage. Forgot about the black olives and increased the amount of dried oregano to 1/2 teaspoon. Also omitted the olive oil 'cause i wanted to reduce the fats, and i'll tell you i didn't miss it. We had this for dinner yesterday night and we're still raving..... Thank you thank you thank you Diane, your papa is a genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Photo by Oureatinghabits
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
A hit!! I made it using boca burger. This is so good, thanks a lot for the recipe. I had no olives, next time , I am going to make sure I have them when I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Fantastic! I've made this several times-you can substitute the sausage with ground beef and it still turns out great! Thanks for an easy & flexible recipe. It's a keeper for our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
We used sweet italian sausage with the casing removed instead of the hot bulk pork and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
great bread, I didn't have any roasted red peppers, and I used balsamic vinegrette but it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Hernando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I took this to an appetizer get together and it was a huge success! The mixture that you drizzle over it added soooo much flavor. I used roma tomatoes and cut slices thin. I also served the olives on the side for two reasons. I have friends that do not like them and they kept falling off the bread. My mistake was buying bread that was much too large. I ended up cutting it into 4 lengthwise pieces. I will definitely make it again with different bread. It would be great on flatbread as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States