Papa Drexler's Bavarian Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LIDDAH
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Out of the oven, the first bite gives a crisp crunch and wonderful pretzel flavor with the softest dough in the middle. Absolutely delightful! Once the boys heard the crunch, it was all hands on the cooling rack and nothing left in minutes. The flavor is good enough not to need extra butter (as my husband is wont to do at times) but also goes well with a goood coarse ground mustard and yes! a nice beer. It was so easy I made multiple batches to play with. I reccomend not changing a thing in this recipe. I split the batch into 12 moderate sized pretzels rather than big ones. so that they would last longer (they didn't :) One thing I did try that showed interesting results: Kneading by hand made the inside very soft like frsh white bread. Kneading by Kitchenaid made the center more tough for a heartier chew. Also tried wrapping around already simmered turkey brats after dipping pretzels in baking soda solution and made fantastic pretzel brats. This recipe is a definite keeper. My thanks to the Drexlers for passing this on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIDDAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was my first time trying to make pretzels and it will definately not be my last. These were the best pretzels I have had since I was in germany and a nice change from the frozen ones that I normally have to buy at the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This was super easy, and very yummy! My 2 picky girls love them! My first for anything involving yeast and kneading to actually work! I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKGEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Great recipe!! I used my kitchenaid for about 3/4 of the kneading and the rest was done by hand - they turned out fabulous - soft in the middle and chewy on the outside. We also made about 20 little ones as opposed to the large ones and they were delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Very good. Just cut the pretzels into 2 inch pieces instead of trying to form a pretzel shape. Will definitely make in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baby Potsticker
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
these came out sooo good! I doubled the batch and it made soo many...i wonder if they freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Very good! I followed the recipe exactly. I did have to add quite a bit of extra flour when kneading though. They tasted wonderful fresh out of the oven. However they were not good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happywife05
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
These were insanely good!!! I portioned the dough into 8 pretzels, and they were still a good size. They were gone a few hours after I made them...my husband ate 4 in less than 10 minutes. I'm so glad I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
What a great and simple recipe! With the exception of having to add about a half cup of flour while kneading the recipe is precise and easy to follow. I'm a novice with yeast cookery and mine were crispy and buttery on the outside while dense and chewy on the inside. However, my pretzels were hilariously deformed. This didn't stop my flatmates from gobbling them up (perfect with beer) but it did make for uneven cooking. In the future I'll do them "nugget" style but its great to get the kitchen cred for doing real pretzels even if they do look a little folksy. I'm thinking one could skip the salt and toss the nuggets in cinnamon and sugar after baking. I'm also plotting how to get peanut butter into the middle of these theoretical nuggets but I fear it may be difficult to inject jelly donut style. Thanks to the Drexler's for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Excellent flavor and so quick. After I added some flour it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Opera Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Baked Soft Pretzels

Use your bread machine to make perfectly soft baked pretzels.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States