Papa Drexler's Bavarian Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Supre easy recipe with amazing results! Loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillvanberkom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
These are absolutely delicious! If you double the amount of pretzels made (to make smaller, but more pretzels) like me, I would recommend soaking them for 15 seconds total, while flipping them over half-way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Easy and REALLY GOOD- you will need to add a LOT more flour in order to get a smooth NOT sticky pretzel- I didn't. And mine were not so pretty but tasted good. I think next time I'll make little bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I can only give this a four since I didn't make the bread dough, I used frozen dough and let it rise overnight. However, I did follow the directions for dipping in the baking soda water and the high temperature for the oven. I think these two steps are critical. I have made pretzels before, but never with the baking soda water. I did this and they tasted like actual pretzels. Thanks so much for the tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
My first time making pretzels. It was fun. They were ok for having been made at home for the first time. I used hodgson mills yeast(incredible product)I think they will get better as I become more experienced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovelymeal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
These are the best pretzels ever! Tip...Roll them really thin because they will rise and get huge in the oven! Good to make for friends while watching a football game!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This recipe is fabulous! We love soft pretzels at our house and these were a huge hit! We tried half of the batch with mustard and the other half with cinnamon & sugar! Either way they were amazing! The only note I have is probably a no brainer for most people but I didn't think about water temperature when adding to the flour/yeast mixture and used cold tap water and had to repeat that step using warm water to activate the yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I got a new KitchenAid mixer for Christmas and used it to make these pretzels. (It kneads the dough for me.) My hubby said these were the best pretzels I've ever made. I melted some Velveeta cheese with some milk to make a cheese dipping sauce. I bet honey mustard or garlic butter would be yummy as well, though. I also think it would be simple to add chocolate chips and sprinkle with a bit of sugar instead of course salt. YUMMY!!! We will be making these again soon, but doubling the recipe. Also, I think I will divide them into 8, instead of 6 pieces, because they were HUGE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by queso144
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
These pretzels are delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, just divided the dough into 8 pieces instead of 6. The next day I threw them in the oven to heat them up and glazed them with some leftover cookie frosting. The salty/sweet combo is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Playa Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I had never made pretzels at home before, but my husband and I followed the recipe exactly. Turned out really soft and delicious, and didn't last long :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States