Papa Drexler's Bavarian Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Very tasty, I will attempt to make them again. I found that I had to use a cup more flour than was called for. The dough was very soft, and when I tried to make the tradition shape, after adding them to the water most of them turned into looking like cow pies. I am jealous of the pics. But again, very tasty and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ggourde

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ichikawa, Chiba, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I have never made pretzels and this was a very good recipe. I only dipped half of them in the water and baking soda mix, and i didnt like that crunch that it makes so i will keep this recipe however i will not use that part, thank you so much its wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
We loved this receipe, I followed other peoples suggestions and made 8 pretzels. I hand kneaded them and did need about 1/2 cup more of flour. We did four with kosher salt and four with cinnamon sugar. We will diffently be making these again but next time will baste with butter before putting in oven and after and then add the cinnamon sugar as I think they will taste better. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katheleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Supre easy recipe with amazing results! Loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillvanberkom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
These are absolutely delicious! If you double the amount of pretzels made (to make smaller, but more pretzels) like me, I would recommend soaking them for 15 seconds total, while flipping them over half-way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Easy and REALLY GOOD- you will need to add a LOT more flour in order to get a smooth NOT sticky pretzel- I didn't. And mine were not so pretty but tasted good. I think next time I'll make little bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I can only give this a four since I didn't make the bread dough, I used frozen dough and let it rise overnight. However, I did follow the directions for dipping in the baking soda water and the high temperature for the oven. I think these two steps are critical. I have made pretzels before, but never with the baking soda water. I did this and they tasted like actual pretzels. Thanks so much for the tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
My first time making pretzels. It was fun. They were ok for having been made at home for the first time. I used hodgson mills yeast(incredible product)I think they will get better as I become more experienced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovelymeal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
These are the best pretzels ever! Tip...Roll them really thin because they will rise and get huge in the oven! Good to make for friends while watching a football game!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This recipe is fabulous! We love soft pretzels at our house and these were a huge hit! We tried half of the batch with mustard and the other half with cinnamon & sugar! Either way they were amazing! The only note I have is probably a no brainer for most people but I didn't think about water temperature when adding to the flour/yeast mixture and used cold tap water and had to repeat that step using warm water to activate the yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States