Papa Drexler's Bavarian Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
very yummy! My first batch was a little salty so I cut the baking soda in the water to 1 TBLS and they came out perfect. The hole family loved them with honey mustard or plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tomaters

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
SUPER Awesome and easy (i'm eating one as I type). It took in total about 50 minutes for me to make and I did add quite a bit more flour during the kneading process (I used my mixer w hook for kneading). They are SO soft and good. I am going to make my kids a turkey sandwich on pretzel "bread" for dinner using a pretzel cut in half. very easy and delicious. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Pure heaven. I just tried this for the first time, exactly according to the directions,and I'm surprised the neighbors haven't swarmed the house for a bite. Everything about this recipe is wonderful, thank you so much for posting! --K
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I really liked these pretzels. They were easy to make and delicious. I froze my unbaked pretzels individually on a cookie sheet overnight and then combined them into a ziplock bag. Took three out tonight and did the soda bath and baked them! The only reason why I rated the 4 stars instead of 5 was that they didn't really remind me of the bavarian pretzels that we had over in Germany, these weren't as thick crusted or dense. It could be the soda bath vs. the lye. Overall, awesome recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Wonderful -- I also used my Kitchenaid mixer to do most of the kneading. I also tried out making a Kummelstange by sprinkling with caraway seed and kosher salt -- worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
What a lot of work! Really great recipe, though...might as well double or triple it because these pretzels go fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniwithani

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I just made this for the first time, but instead of dipping it and adding salt, I layered in Feta cheese and Spinach. My goal was the wonderful spinach and Feta pretzels Starbucks makes, and I got pretty close. I will definitely do it again. I mixed in almost 2 cups of cheese, and a cup of cooked spinach as I was shaping the pretzels. The breading was PERFECT for it. (Not really pretzelish, but a wonderful snack)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was so simple to make! My family absolutely loved them and right now we are thinking of what else we can make with this. Like most people I increased the the amount of pretzels made (I divided it into 9 pieces instead of 6). I used 4 1/2 c water and 4tbsp of soda when boiling and it was the perfect pretzel taste! Also I used about a cup more flour while kneading it and only kneaded it for about 4-5 min not 8. I shaped them into a simple twist and followed the cooking times almost exactly. These were one of the best quick dinner rolls that we've had in a long time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOEHLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Extremely easy to make and absolutely delicious - better than the ones in the mall. Once they finished baking, I spread melted butter on them and added the salt (the salt I used was sea salt cracked fresh from a grinder). Will definitely be making these time and time again! Next time will do some variations like garlic and cinnamon/sugar. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mydnight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Wunderbar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States