Papa Drexler's Bavarian Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I must have done something wrong. They came out soft and buttery not crisp with a soft inside. Still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Cooper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I made these pretzels today. The first time I've attempted anything like this, although I've been making bread for over 40 years now. So easy to make too! From start to finish, 2-3 hours. The pretzels turned out very light and fluffy. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I make this recipe all the time. They are best straight out of the oven, but are tasty reheated. They have a delicious buttery flavor. These are great with the coils wrapped around small sausage links as an appetizer, or hot dogs as a bun alternative. I made them with the sausage links at Halloween as "mummy toes". They were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Very good pretzels. They were way easier to make than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
The consensus is, "Oh yeah, baby!" Already Mom and I are thinking of other ways to use this bread, like with sausages and ham and cheese. Oh yeah, baby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RM Brand

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I tried these for the first time and they turned out pretty good! I found that I had to bake them longer in the oven in order to get the preztel to brown nicely, and they were best when eaten right out of the oven. I would definitely try making these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dyelfes
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Just made these. Like other reviewers, I had to add additional flour while kneading the dough. I made about 20 pretzels. Mine didn't come out crisp... ended up putting one pan back in the oven for an additional 5 minutes which helped. No problem with them sticking. I'm wondering if perhaps my water/ baking soda bath got too cool since I was making so many. Does anyone know if the heat of the water plays into the crispness? I made them for an Oktoberfest party tomorrow, hope they are still good. May make another batch tomorrow before the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This isn't exactly a review as much as a question: after boiling/dunking the pretzels in the water bath are you supposed to let them dry before brushing with the egg wash and baking? I made pretzel rolls once and they weren't very successful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I've been craving "ballpark" pretzels (thicker and slightly crustier than the mall ones) and I figured it was probably easier to make them than drive around until I found one! I just made these and they taste amazing! They're a little softer on the outside than I prefer, but the taste and texture of the inside is perfect. If I can get the outside a little chewier, they'll be absolutely perfect. Maybe I didn't boil them long enough? I slid them back in the oven (which I had already turned off) for a few minutes and they're a little better. Not sure what else to try, but I'll definitely make these again! I did have to add an additional 3/4-1 cup of flour, but they rolled and shaped beautifully. I cut the dough into 8 balls, formed one, put it in the water, then rolled the next one out. As soon as the next was rolled into a long rope, I flipped the boiling one, then formed the rolled one. As soon as it was formed, I put the boiled one upside-down on a paper towel and immediately flipped it right-side-up onto a Silpat on a baking sheet. I sprinkled it with kosher salt and put the next one in the water, then repeated the process. The timing of this worked for me. Thanks so much for this fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
this recipe is fabulous! very easy, tasty, and versatile. i portioned dough into 12, and i allowed my 5 yr old daughter to help roll out and make shapes, and despite her best efforts, they still turned out great! we made braids and twists, along with other indefinable shapes, and they all baked perfectly. but beware! if you don't dry off or drip-dry after taking out of the water bath, NO amount of non-stick anything will save you from losing the bottom of your pretzel to the baking sheet/parchment paper. we used a cinnamon/sugar topping, and a honey yogurt dip after. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States