Papa Drexler's Bavarian Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
this recipe is fabulous! very easy, tasty, and versatile. i portioned dough into 12, and i allowed my 5 yr old daughter to help roll out and make shapes, and despite her best efforts, they still turned out great! we made braids and twists, along with other indefinable shapes, and they all baked perfectly. but beware! if you don't dry off or drip-dry after taking out of the water bath, NO amount of non-stick anything will save you from losing the bottom of your pretzel to the baking sheet/parchment paper. we used a cinnamon/sugar topping, and a honey yogurt dip after. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by winofoodie
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This is my favorite pretzel recipe. Crisp and buttery on the outside, warm and soft inside. My boyfriend and I enjoy pairing these with a good microbrew, they really do taste great with a nice beer. I cut the dough into 8 pieces instead of 6 to get more pretzels. If I have any leftover the next day (which isn't often!) I slice them lengthwise to use as roles for sandwiches :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
YUM!!! Wow, are these amazing! I followed this to the letter, although I needed a smidge more flour, as my dough was incredibly sticky. I popped the dough in my Kitchen Aid with the dough hook attachment to knead, just to make my life a little easier. Worked wonderfully :) It is really helpful to roll the dough into ropes, set aside and let them rest as you make the rest of the ropes, and then go back to the first rope and roll it longer. Letting it rest for a couple minutes makes it so much easier to get the desired length. Also, I would like to add in case anyone is new to bread making, it is imperative that the 1 and 1/3 cup water you add to the yeast mixture is warm. That will activate the yeast. Anyways, this is an awesome recipe- easy and delicious. The pretzels have a lovely crunch on the outside, but are tender on the inside. Perfect snack with a nice cold beer! Thanks for sharing Tim Drexler :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Really good. First time making pretzels and this was easy. Followed another reviewers suggestion of letting it rise before making the pretzel shape. Be warned though...these will be huge if you only divide the dough into six balls. I divided it into eight and they were still huge. Will try 10 next. This is definitely a keeper :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
After making these my whole family keeps requesting I make them again. Next time I think I will top them with some roasted garlic. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardenia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
The recipe is easy to follow and the result is the best pretzel that I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Random 2 min. long search had brought me to this page. That's where search ended. Made them so far on 3 occasions. Family and friends loved Papa Drexler's Bavarian Pretzels so I had to share on my Blog the link to this page and a photo gallery of made by me pretzels. Danke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This is the best pretzel recipe ever! These are the best pretzels I've ever eaten. I followed the recipe exactly and the pretzels had a nice crispy crust and were almost light and airy in the middle. I twisted half of my pretzels into the traditional shape and the other half into the shape on the picture for this recipe. The picture shape is best as these pretzels spread out and look nicer in the looped and twisted shape. I think that the next time I make them, I'll divide the dough to make 10 pretzels instead of eight and roll them into 10" ropes for twisting. I did this with one pretzel and it make a nicer looking pretzel that baked a little more crispy. I also had some leftover hot dogs, so I wrapped ropes of pretzel dough around those and baked them per the instructions and they were amazing as well. They would go well served with a sauerkraut mixture of chopped onions sauteed in bacon grease and tossed with sauerkraut and crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Just pulled these out of the oven! OMG they smell and taste AMAZING! Lightly crispy on the outside and so tender on the inside. SUPER (and I mean SUPER) easy to make. I had to leave them in for 10-12 minutes to get the browning I wanted. Made them today for this afternoons football game and I haven doubts there will be any left by kick off. All ready planning a beer variety, and Italian herb variety and a cinnamon sugar variety!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Baked Soft Pretzels

Use your bread machine to make perfectly soft baked pretzels.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States