Papa Drexler's Bavarian Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I got a new KitchenAid mixer for Christmas and used it to make these pretzels. (It kneads the dough for me.) My hubby said these were the best pretzels I've ever made. I melted some Velveeta cheese with some milk to make a cheese dipping sauce. I bet honey mustard or garlic butter would be yummy as well, though. I also think it would be simple to add chocolate chips and sprinkle with a bit of sugar instead of course salt. YUMMY!!! We will be making these again soon, but doubling the recipe. Also, I think I will divide them into 8, instead of 6 pieces, because they were HUGE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by queso144
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
These pretzels are delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, just divided the dough into 8 pieces instead of 6. The next day I threw them in the oven to heat them up and glazed them with some leftover cookie frosting. The salty/sweet combo is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Playa Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I had never made pretzels at home before, but my husband and I followed the recipe exactly. Turned out really soft and delicious, and didn't last long :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
These turned out amazing!!! Fluffy and soft, so good. I added so grated parmesaen cheese to the top before I put them in the oven, it was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I made these pretzels with my hubby and kids the other day, and we had a lot of fun. It was my first time making pretzels, and I thought they were actually pretty easy. They looked great coming out of the oven. I didn't think they tasted that great. I guess it's a combination of flavor and texture that didn't really appeal to me...but I wouln't say I hated them. Just three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bordertown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
My husband loved these & he doesn't even like pretzels. He is already hatching plans for fancy parmesan, pepperoni, cinnamon, variations. Super easy & fast snack. We got these cranked out during the commercial break of our TV program
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olga Avila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Followed the recipe as written. Pretty good, but nothing special. My husband only ate half of one and was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Very easy to make and very good! I did use warm water to activate the yeast, the recipe didn't specify. I also forgot to add the salt to the dough. I did the butter and salt before baking and they had plenty of flavor, even with my mistake. We had lots of fun trying to get the pretzel shape right. No matter how they looked, they tasted amazing. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I'm not sure what I did wrong - but these didn't turn out well. Both batches got stuck to greased cooking sheets. And things were incredibly weird during the water/baking soda stage as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arae
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Tastes like Pretzels. I am quite impressed with my first ever try on this. The dough is a little hard to roll and knead, but definitely worth it. I found it a tad doughy after 10 minutes so I left it in for another couple mins, making sure they didn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States