Papa Drexler's Bavarian Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
These turned out AMAZING. Nice and crunchy outside, soft inside. Perfect pretzel taste. Added more flour like others stated and a bit more salt. Did the kneading with my Kitchen Aid mixer. Been looking for a good pretzel recipe and this one is it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Wowza, these are great pretzels! I've tried to make pretzels before, but they were not even close to the goodness of these. Super delicious. I wasn't very good at shaping them, so we turned out with 4 weird looking pretzels and 8 pretzel "sticks". I also proofed the yeast with the water and sugar before I added the rest of the ingredients and kneaded it in the kitchen aid. I think the baking soda water does the trick. We will be making these again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadiebea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I must have done something wrong. They came out soft and buttery not crisp with a soft inside. Still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I made these pretzels today. The first time I've attempted anything like this, although I've been making bread for over 40 years now. So easy to make too! From start to finish, 2-3 hours. The pretzels turned out very light and fluffy. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I make this recipe all the time. They are best straight out of the oven, but are tasty reheated. They have a delicious buttery flavor. These are great with the coils wrapped around small sausage links as an appetizer, or hot dogs as a bun alternative. I made them with the sausage links at Halloween as "mummy toes". They were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Very good pretzels. They were way easier to make than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
The consensus is, "Oh yeah, baby!" Already Mom and I are thinking of other ways to use this bread, like with sausages and ham and cheese. Oh yeah, baby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RM Brand

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I tried these for the first time and they turned out pretty good! I found that I had to bake them longer in the oven in order to get the preztel to brown nicely, and they were best when eaten right out of the oven. I would definitely try making these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dyelfes
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Just made these. Like other reviewers, I had to add additional flour while kneading the dough. I made about 20 pretzels. Mine didn't come out crisp... ended up putting one pan back in the oven for an additional 5 minutes which helped. No problem with them sticking. I'm wondering if perhaps my water/ baking soda bath got too cool since I was making so many. Does anyone know if the heat of the water plays into the crispness? I made them for an Oktoberfest party tomorrow, hope they are still good. May make another batch tomorrow before the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This isn't exactly a review as much as a question: after boiling/dunking the pretzels in the water bath are you supposed to let them dry before brushing with the egg wash and baking? I made pretzel rolls once and they weren't very successful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States