Panzanella Salad Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Loved this salad. Didn't use the special skewers but it still was great. Made it while camping over an open fire. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNIELAURA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chehalis, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Everything I hoped it would be!! This was awesome; I loved the flavor the grill imparted to the bread cubes and veggies. I made a few changes; I added red onion chunks to the skewers (cuz I love them) and only grilled them about 2 minutes per side--the bread blackens quickly, even on low heat. Also, instead of making the basil pesto, I used Argentine chimichurri because I'd made some the day before and needed to use it up. Argentine food has so much Italian influence, I knew the flavors would be perfect together and they were! I know this is a big change, since the pesto surely gives the dish a very different flavor, but I am sure the pesto will be equally delicious and look forward to making it again soon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I made this for the Recipe Group and I was not able to find the skewers called for in this recipe, so I had to use regular wooden skewers which I soaked in water. Having said that, these were very good! I could not bring myself to spend $5.29 per pound for red and yellow peppers, so I just went with green peppers. When I seasoned them with the salt and pepper, I also sprinkled on some garlic powder to make up for not having the garlic seasoned sticks...that seemed to work out well. I served them on a platter, omitting the romaine, drizzled with pesto and placed mini mozzarella balls around. Hubby and I both agreed that these were very tasty! I could definately see myself making these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
These were a great addition to chicken kebobs! My cheese melted everywhere, but it won't stop me from making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I made this for ***Recipe Group***. The grilled vegetables were very good. I made garlic infused olive oil since I couldn't find any of the specified skewers. My personal taste preference is to have just the skewer of veggies with no lettuce or mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I was unable to find a local suppy of the seasoned skewers, so I made do by soaking regular bamboo skewers, then rubbing each well with a clove of garlic. My peppers were red and green and I used mini mozzarella balls from the farmer's market and my own homemade bread. This was a pretty presentation. Next time I think I would simply brush the skewers with garlic infused oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I made these for a recent camping trip, to rave reviews from the family (although they laughed at me for "going to the trouble" -but it really wasn't any trouble :-) I used rosemary skewers from the garden, and brushed it all with a garlic infused olive oil before grilling. I also forgot the pesto, but just happened to have some fresh basil (see why they laugh at me...)so just made a simple vinaigrette and sprinkled fresh basil over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I used regular skewers soaked and I heated olive oil and garlic together to infuse them I also left out the bell peppers and skewered red onion in place and used the warm infused garlic oil brushed on the skewers while cooking on the grill. served as an appetizer delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States