"Pantry Raid" Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Yum. OH! I made this as a one-dish crockpot recipe and it was delicious. I used chicken breasts, not tenders, adding them raw to the seasoned tomato sauce mixture and cooking it all on LO for 3.5 hrs (less for tenders). After adding in the rest and topping with the corn muffin mix, I cooked on HI for 1.5 hours. Next time I'll add diced onion (1 sm) and 1-2 cloves minced garlic to the tomato sauce mixture, but even as is, this was great, and a keeper. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NJFoodies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was so simple and fantastic! I added red bell pepper, onion, and minced garlic; and substituted Costco rotisserie chicken pulled off the bone. oohlala!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I made this last night and thought it was great! I added some sauteed ingredients (a large minced onion, corn, chopped mixed bell pepper strips). I also added a can of Ro-Tel diced tomatoes and green chiles. I omitted the water and just used the juice from the Ro-Tel can. Lastly, I added about a teaspoon of cumin. I know it sounds like a lot of changes but at the end of the day, the basis of this recipe is great. Don't be afraid of the 1 1/2 T of chili powder. I thought it would be quite spicy with that much but it wasn't at all and I added the Ro-Tel too! Don't be afraid to continue what started this recipe in the first place...the pantry raid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This was easy and delicious. I didn't even brown the chicken first. Just simmered it with the tomato sauce. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This was awesome. I would give it 10 stars if I could. For me this is pure comfort food; and it is so easy. I cheated and used shredded rotisserie chicken, light cream cheese and substituted my customized Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread recipe with corn and jalapeños from this site instead of the cornbread mix. So it was a super fast dinner. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This made a delicious and hearty meal. The only changes that I made were to use 2 cans of chicken, browned with onions and a tsp. minced garlic. My family loved this one. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Nicely done, Mama411, and an aptly named recipe! I had most of the ingredients in my pantry, but substituted pinto beans for the black beans, added a can of Mexican-style corn, and used sour cream rather than cream cheese. It was superb! Cooking the chicken in with the sauce eliminates a pan, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This recipe would've been great if I had followed the original recipe. I followed the review that recommended I cook it in the crock pot. After 5 hours, it was complete mush! We dipped tortilla chips in it, but it was a little much to call it a main dish. Next time I will follow the original recipe. The flavors were great, but a little sweet. I may look for a corn bread mix without sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I made this tonight, and I didn't change one thing. My husband asked for seconds and he is a picky eater. I loved the corn bread topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This was awesome!!! I couldn't figure out what to cook and was looking for something to throw together with what I had. I subbed sour cream for cream cheese. And used 2 cups of cheddar cheese instead of mex style. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States