"Pantry Raid" Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This is a "two thumbs up " recipe! I followed the recipe, however substituted a grocery store roast chicken instead of the chicken tenders- so good and EASY! Tasted even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Beautiful and tasty! And oh so easy... I added olives w/ the black beans. Everything else as directed. Thank you mama411!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennKatzr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mauldin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
We really liked the recipe but disliked having the cornbread on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Used leftover rotisserie chicken, added sauteed onion, corn and used pinto beans in place of the black beans. Topped with cilantro and fresh jalapenos when it was served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thelittlecook
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
This recipe is delicious, though I made some slight changes and additions. First, instead of frying the chicken, I just popped a couple chicken breasts covered in foil into the oven at 375 F for about 35 mins, then shredded them. After that, I cut up a small green bell pepper and onion, sautéed them and added the chicken and the sauce mix. For the sauce, I omitted the chili powder as I used the Taco Seasoning I recipe from this site, which is quite spicy. To the sauce I added a can corn and a can of red kidney beans (instead of black, as they are not sold where I live). Also cannot find Jiffy mix here, so used a "fake-it" Jiffy mix from a blog called Fake-It Frugal. Had to bake it for about 40 mins altogether. I would definitely like to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I thought this was great. We've tried Mexican casseroles and never been too impressed. I was looking for a way to use up leftover baked chicken and decided to give it a try. So glad I did! I did decrease the amount of chili powder for the kids and added a small can of corn (drained). Then I baked in a 9x11 dish because I didn't think it'd fit in the 9x9. It was delicious and a hit for us as well as our 2 & 4 yr old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
New family favorite! Even the daughter who doesn't like 'spicy' loved this. Going to have to double it next time to have enough left over for lunches. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KittyFanatic
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I made this last week, simply because I was craving Tex-mex food and I had all the ingredients. I already had cooked chicken, so all I did was chop it up, making the rest of the recipe pretty darned easy. This would also work well with ground chicken, turkey or beef, making it very versatile. I don't normally use taco seasoning packets - we make our own sauce using Mrs. Espy's Enchilada Sauce from this site. But, I did have one buried in the pantry - good use for it! I used Jiffy Mix cornbread. I let my son put everything together, and just lightly supervised. We used a 9x13 cake pan, because I didn't have the size listed in the original recipe. Well, it was truly tasty! It got a thumbs-up from the entire family. Sadly, there was only a tiny little bit left over, so next time, I might make two pans so we can have some for lunch the rest of the week! I forgot to take a photo at the beginning, but took one at the end of the meal! LOL Thank you for sharing such a quick, tasty meal. (PS - I see a few reviews talking about how salty the dish was. I think your answer there is whatever taco seasoning you used. There are many brands that have a very high salt content (it makes the package weigh more). I'd either make your own taco seasoning, or use a good quality brand in the packets. Also saw someone else talk about sour cream-you didn't read it right-this recipe takes CREAM CHEESE. Amazing how folks give a low rating to something they didn't even make as written. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I didn't have everything, but it's very flexible. I had to make my own cornbread used a buttermilk one off this site, then no taco seasoning just used the liquid in the beans and added Mexican oregano with the chili powder and it still came out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Way too salty! Not sure what I did wrong. Followed directions exactly and could barely eat it. Would recommend cutting taco seasoning in half as that's probably the culprit since the recipe does not call for salt alone. Maybe adding some rice would even out the saltiness. Wow was it ever salty! Reading the reviews, I don't see that anyone else had this problem so I'm not sure what happened to mine. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States