"Pantry Raid" Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Thanks for sharing this very easy and tasty recipe. Good as is. Great base recipe and works well with substitutions you find in your pantry or fridge. Some substitutions that I found to work: Try salsa instead of tomato sauce; pepper jack cheese for cheddar; chili powder, garlic, or other spices if you don't have taco mix; ground beef instead of chicken; chili beans instead of black beans; corn meal using the recipe on the bag (about 3/4-1 cup of corn meal) if you don't have corn muffin mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
The men in the family loved this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
really easy to make and really delicious. I didn't put in as much spice since I'm not a spicy food person and it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weslie Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Great recipe. I usually do't make any changes the first time I make a recipe just to taste the "original". However, instead of runing to the store for ingredients that I didn't have on hand, I raided my pantry - I used a can of undrained diced tomatoes w/ green chilis (I should have left out the water as the resulting dish was a little "runnier" than the picture). I only had a little over 1 Tbsp of chili powder left (I ended up being glad as it was a little too spicy for me, but my husband loved it). I also had a little refried bean leftover from another dish and threw that in for good measure. Maybe next time I'll add some corn based on some other comments made here. Thanks Mama411
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Mine became a Chicken Chili, but it is comfort food and good! I cooked 2 LARGE chicken breasts in a crock pot (probably 2/3 lbs each) and cooked them under the tomato sauce, Taco seasoning, chili powder, I used broth instead of water and following some of the suggestions in the reviews I added paparika, 1 diced onion, some garlic and a small can of green diced chilies. I cooked the chicken this way on low for 1 hour and then on high for 2+ more hours. Chicken turned out perfectly and still moist - I was able to put it on a cutting board and cube it before putting it back in the crock pot. Once I added the beans I figured I wouldn't be able to fit a good cornbread layer in my small crock pot, so I opted to cook the cornbread in a glass 9x9 in the oven. This also left me just enough room in the crock pot to add a bit of diced red & yellow peppers and I declared it to be chicken chili. Wonderful, favorful and hardy. The Jiff cornbread just took it over the top. Next time I wouldn't bother with the cream cheese - you can't taste it and I would just serve sour cream and cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This has become my husbands favorites meal! I always thrown in corn since it compliments the black beans so well. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali Servantez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Added can of Mexican corn and light red beans with jalapeños ... The family devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Very good! I only give 5 stars for cravable. I made a half batch of cornbread from scratch instead of the packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I haven't commented on a recipe before. I followed this recipe to the letter and it came out great!! My six year old even approved. He is a finicky eater. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
OK this is simply AWESOME!, I searched the web for a chicken dish that involved cornbread and after making this tonight im convinced theres now WAY she just "THREW" this together. and if im wrong, open a restaurant NOW! yes it may seem im overselling it but im not. I added a couple of tbls of ranch dressing to the sauce but other than that, made no other alterations. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States