"Pantry Raid" Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I thought this was great. We've tried Mexican casseroles and never been too impressed. I was looking for a way to use up leftover baked chicken and decided to give it a try. So glad I did! I did decrease the amount of chili powder for the kids and added a small can of corn (drained). Then I baked in a 9x11 dish because I didn't think it'd fit in the 9x9. It was delicious and a hit for us as well as our 2 & 4 yr old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
New family favorite! Even the daughter who doesn't like 'spicy' loved this. Going to have to double it next time to have enough left over for lunches. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KittyFanatic
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I made this last week, simply because I was craving Tex-mex food and I had all the ingredients. I already had cooked chicken, so all I did was chop it up, making the rest of the recipe pretty darned easy. This would also work well with ground chicken, turkey or beef, making it very versatile. I don't normally use taco seasoning packets - we make our own sauce using Mrs. Espy's Enchilada Sauce from this site. But, I did have one buried in the pantry - good use for it! I used Jiffy Mix cornbread. I let my son put everything together, and just lightly supervised. We used a 9x13 cake pan, because I didn't have the size listed in the original recipe. Well, it was truly tasty! It got a thumbs-up from the entire family. Sadly, there was only a tiny little bit left over, so next time, I might make two pans so we can have some for lunch the rest of the week! I forgot to take a photo at the beginning, but took one at the end of the meal! LOL Thank you for sharing such a quick, tasty meal. (PS - I see a few reviews talking about how salty the dish was. I think your answer there is whatever taco seasoning you used. There are many brands that have a very high salt content (it makes the package weigh more). I'd either make your own taco seasoning, or use a good quality brand in the packets. Also saw someone else talk about sour cream-you didn't read it right-this recipe takes CREAM CHEESE. Amazing how folks give a low rating to something they didn't even make as written. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I didn't have everything, but it's very flexible. I had to make my own cornbread used a buttermilk one off this site, then no taco seasoning just used the liquid in the beans and added Mexican oregano with the chili powder and it still came out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Way too salty! Not sure what I did wrong. Followed directions exactly and could barely eat it. Would recommend cutting taco seasoning in half as that's probably the culprit since the recipe does not call for salt alone. Maybe adding some rice would even out the saltiness. Wow was it ever salty! Reading the reviews, I don't see that anyone else had this problem so I'm not sure what happened to mine. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Very tasty dish. I did make minor changes--I had a 1/2 red pepper leftover and about 1 serving of corn so I added those. I also used my own homemade taco seasoning to control the salt. Next time I may omit the cornbread mix and serve over rice. I also added some fresh lime juice and cilantro to each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I think it's great just as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacob Seifert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This was easy and super good! True to it's name, I also raided my pantry to make it, of course I didn't have everything exactly as called for but it was very easy to make substitutes and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Yummy! My hubby and I loved it. I'll definitely be making it again. I used a 10 ounce can of Rotel in place of the tomato sauce and added another 1/4 cup of water. Add a bit of sour cream when you serve it and it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Benson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I really expected to like this but it was very disappointing. The flavor was overwhelmingly chili powder; you really couldn't taste the chicken or beans or cheese. I think the concept is good - but this recipe still needs work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States