"Pantry Raid" Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I was scrolling thru recipes looking for pizza crust when I happened across this one that stood out and practically yelled to try it! So I did. I read just a few reviews and found one that added additional ingredients--and I thought it sounded super easy so I gave it a try. I do everything 'to taste'... I used 2 chicken breasts leftover from a rotiss chicken, 1/2 c.minced onion, Rotel tomatoes with the juice, black beans-rinsed, chopped up Anahiems (I had frozen from my garden), chopped green peppers, 2t. Cumin and about 1/3 c. chicken broth along with the original recipe ingredients. Use the 8x8 pan or you may not have enough cornbread mix to cover well. I also used med. cheddar cheese in place of Mexican cheese-who knew, right? I am the true Mexican food junkie in our home but hubby was a great sport and actually ate his sizable portion! Needless to say--it went over well. Serve with a generous dollop of Sour Cream and sliced avocado on top~ yum! Ü
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This was DELISH! My husband loved it! Best comfort food I have made in a long time. Only change I made was to use vegetable stock instead of water and I combined sharp cheddar cheese with the Mexican-syle cheese blend. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pete_esss
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I made this last night. The total cook time from start to finish was nice and quick. I would suggest splash guards for getting the sauce to simmer and then again when adding the sauce to the chicken. I added a cup and a half of frozen corn at the same time as the black beans. Also, I used my kitchen-aid to shred the chicken (Really easy, medium setting about 1 minute). I brought leftovers to work today and might eat it for dinner tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pete_esss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I didn't follow the recipe 100%, just because of personal preference. I cooked the chicken in the sauce and shredded. I cut the amount of chili powder to 2 teaspoons, and substituted a can of corn for the beans, because my kids won't eat beans. Overall, I don't think the changes compromised the integrity of the recipe. We served with sour cream. It's definitely a keeper, and can be tailored to your likes. Next time I'm going to try ground beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This recipe doesnt make the most beautiful presentation on the plate, but boy is it delicious. My husband didn't want to eat it at first because he said it looked like "mush", but once he tried it he couldnt put his fork down. I made the recipe as is the first time around and it was absolutely delicious. But my husband and I prefer beef so I used taco meat the next time and it was even more amazing!I also omitted the tomato sauce and added a can of rotel tomatos. The corn bread topping is such a brilliant idea. This recipe is impossible to screw up and its so easy to modify according to your family's taste. Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Yummy dish and it was simple. I used an 8x8 pan instead of the recommended 9x9 pan, and I already had a pound of cooked chicken breasts. In a bowl, I mixed the cooked shredded chicken with the other ingredients, and poured it in the pan (without heating first), then topped it with the cheese and cornbread mixture. The 30 minutes in the oven at 375F was more than enough to thoroughly heat the ingredients. This was a simple dish, and having the leftover cooked chicken breasts made it very fast to assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This ends up being just pure comfort food for us and it's easy to put together with ingredients that I usually have on hand anyway. Very budget friendly too. I do use the tomatoes with chiles added for a little added flavor and just bring the sauce together at the end when the chicken is done browning and that works great. Doing it that way you can end up only dirtying one dish, yay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennabees

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I made this last night, following the recipe, and adding corn as others had suggested. My partner asked me to add curry powder to the sauce as well - It was amazing! We went back for seconds and we rarely do! The spice was just right, and the cornbread was such a treat. I think next time I will try the lo-cal version with the yogurt and skim milk :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Amazing! I followed the recipe as given, just added some garlic powder and hot sauce to suit our tastes. This dish is not very impressive in the looks category, but if you can get passed that you will not be disappointed. I don't know exactly how much chicken or tomato sauce I used ( just had a Ziploc with leftover sauce in the freezer) but watch out- once the corn bread bakes up, my 9x9 pan was VERY close to spilling over. Loved it with a little sour cream on top. My husband ate so much he didn't even want dessert after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reese, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
The corn bread on the top was a great change from using tortillas. Next time I might add corn to the mix; it was fine without it but I thought it seemed missing. Family loved it just as is though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States