Pantry Puttanesca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
I used a 2oz can of anchovies in olive oil. I also used only 2T of olive oil. Can use the oil from the anchovy can. Yummy and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NJA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I made this yesterday for lunch with a couple of friends. Left out anchovies as one of my friends is a vegetarian. It was so delicious! Topped with Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Delicious even without the anchovies. We are vegetarian, but it was very good anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I didn't have anchovies on hand, so I substituted about 1 tablespoon of fish sauce, and I didn't use capers because I HATE them. I used a mixture of green and kalamata olives, as well. My husband (who frequently complains when I make pasta) LOVED it, and said the only thing he would change would be to add more olives. I served it with spaghetti and baked chicken breasts, dredged in flour, egg, then a mixture of panko and parmesan cheese. Super simple, and absolutely delicious! This one is definitely going into the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate and John

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Didn't change a thing about it. Did forget to drain the tomatoes though, but just let it simmer longer. I've never knowingly eaten anchovies before (other than in Worcestershire sauce), so wasn't sure how I'd like them. Will start using them more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This sauce is soooo good. I doubled the recipe and forgot to drain three of the four cans of tomatoes so I just let it simmer for several hours. This is my new favorite sauce! I'll be making it again in double batches so I can freeze some. If you are trying avoid the pasta try using spaghetti squash instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Quick, easy, and full of flavor! And it just so happens it used things I commonly have in my pantry, minus the anchovies which I left out completely. You can easily adjust this to suit your tastes. I cut back on the oil and used Italian seasoned diced tomatoes and didn't bother draining them. I also added just a little tomato paste concentrate. I topped it with a little shredded Parmesan cheese before serving. This was so simple and went great with Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken from this site, garlic bread, and of course a nice glass of wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I made this recipe with friends and it worked great! We took out the anchovies because there was a vegetarian among us and it was still flavorful and delicious, so it's not just the anchovies that provide flavor. We also used fresh tomatoes, which made the whole thing feel and taste really fresh and homemade, so I'd definitely recommend that if you can. A great dish for a great evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I had puttanesca (linguini) at a nice italian restaurant in Miami!!! I wasn't in the mood for lasagna or spaghetti or even chicken Parmesan, I might not of been in the mood for italian cuisine that evening, but we went. I decided I wasn't in the mood, so I might as well try something different! I ordered linguini alla puttanesca. I got home and had to find a recipe and that I did!!!! This recipe is as close as you can get to the restaurant in Miami. They used black olives so I used them instead of kalamara olives! Love love it!!!!! It's a keepah!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Great recipe! Made exactly as written. Whole family loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Puttanesca

Turn common pantry ingredients into a quick, delicious pasta dinner.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Global Pantry Italy

Meet the main ingredients of the traditional Italian pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States