Pantry Puttanesca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
So easy and delicious! Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by javella74
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Superb as written! I had to separate out a portion prior to adding the anchovies as I am allergic to fish, but add them if you possibly can. They don't taste fishy. They just add a savory nuance that perks up the rest of the flavors in the dish. And that's the beauty of puttanesca! Because the sauce is so easy and comes together so fast, it's no trouble to set a portion aside before adding an ingredient that give some eaters trouble. I served it with whole wheat spaghetti and crushed red pepper on the side for those who like more heat. Keep the salad simple - sliced cucumbers are nice - and you can have dinner on the table within 20 min of walking through the door.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehouse Station, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I have made puttanesca for many many years and this is the first time I decided to look it up and go with a recipe. This was an incredible recipe. Although I did add a seafood medley of shrimp, prawns and calamari. I also put the whole can of anchovies in and it was delicious. I love seafood so one last thing, after I added noodles and I was cooking the whole dish together, I put a small fillet of salmon over the top of the entire dish, just have something to munch on later, and wow did that add some great flavors to that fillet. I didn't eat the salmon with the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Varga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Prepared basically as written -- added more garlic (I'm fearful of vampires), used 2 tins of diced tomatoes spiced with garlic, basil & oregano (undrained and cooked down). But overall....wow...this is fantastic. I'm single, so made the recipe as written and saved the leftovers for later (freezes well). Oh yea...I did add some chopped fresh basil. Great recipe if you're vegan (I'm not)...but is a great sauce for whatever pasta you desire (I did use lobster ravioli). This is one recipe that uses basic "pantry-ready" items (other than anchovies (most will have to agree). If you don't try this recipe, you're missing out on a fantastically easy pasta sauce that will pique your pallate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JohnRascal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
love, love, love this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tom
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I followed the recipe but didn't put in oregano. It didn't need it. Put in a little extra garlic, anchovies, capers and olives. I also used linguini Easy to make and delicious. PS Of course a little "Reggiano" to finish it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This was delicious, quick and easy! What's not to like? I followed the recipe almost exactly with a few minor tweaks. First, I used an immersion blender to blend one can of the tomatoes. This gave a bit more "substance" to the sauce. Also, we're anchovy fans, so I doubled the amount suggested. The extra anchovy did not impart a fishy taste at all. Thanks Julie, this one is going in my regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This absolutely delicious! I made it exactly as written and it was perfect. The amazing thing is how all the flavors come together. You don't specifically taste any of the ingredients (except maybe the olives depending on how small they're chopped), so to really get this right, you have to make it as written. My family (who normally turn their noses up to anchovies and capers) loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Smiles all around when I serve this dish. Friend had old Italian family recipe she used to make. This is spot on. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This recipe is amazing! First time using capers, and anchovies ever. Was well worth it! I'll be making this again and again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Puttanesca

Turn common pantry ingredients into a quick, delicious pasta dinner.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Global Pantry Italy

Meet the main ingredients of the traditional Italian pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States