Pantry Puttanesca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Didn't change a thing about it. Did forget to drain the tomatoes though, but just let it simmer longer. I've never knowingly eaten anchovies before (other than in Worcestershire sauce), so wasn't sure how I'd like them. Will start using them more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This sauce is soooo good. I doubled the recipe and forgot to drain three of the four cans of tomatoes so I just let it simmer for several hours. This is my new favorite sauce! I'll be making it again in double batches so I can freeze some. If you are trying avoid the pasta try using spaghetti squash instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Quick, easy, and full of flavor! And it just so happens it used things I commonly have in my pantry, minus the anchovies which I left out completely. You can easily adjust this to suit your tastes. I cut back on the oil and used Italian seasoned diced tomatoes and didn't bother draining them. I also added just a little tomato paste concentrate. I topped it with a little shredded Parmesan cheese before serving. This was so simple and went great with Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken from this site, garlic bread, and of course a nice glass of wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I made this recipe with friends and it worked great! We took out the anchovies because there was a vegetarian among us and it was still flavorful and delicious, so it's not just the anchovies that provide flavor. We also used fresh tomatoes, which made the whole thing feel and taste really fresh and homemade, so I'd definitely recommend that if you can. A great dish for a great evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I had puttanesca (linguini) at a nice italian restaurant in Miami!!! I wasn't in the mood for lasagna or spaghetti or even chicken Parmesan, I might not of been in the mood for italian cuisine that evening, but we went. I decided I wasn't in the mood, so I might as well try something different! I ordered linguini alla puttanesca. I got home and had to find a recipe and that I did!!!! This recipe is as close as you can get to the restaurant in Miami. They used black olives so I used them instead of kalamara olives! Love love it!!!!! It's a keepah!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Great recipe! Made exactly as written. Whole family loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
this recipe is absolutely amazing......I added 1/2 diced each of red and yellow pepper and 12 cremini sliced mushrooms which were sautéed on their own and held back until the olives and the capers were added...also aded about 12 grape tomates sliced in half lengthwise when I added the diced tomatoes. I served this with poached pacific salmon and the two together were amazing. all the flavours together play beautifully in our mouth...a glass of white wine adds the final touch..will definitely make again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
A wonderful use of pantry staples. Followed as written, other than increasing the hot pepper flakes to half a teaspoon. Topped with Parmigiano-Reggiano and served with a tomato bocconcini salad. Great. Best of all, we have leftovers for tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This absolutely delicious! I made it exactly as written and it was perfect. The amazing thing is how all the flavors come together. You don't specifically taste any of the ingredients (except maybe the olives depending on how small they're chopped), so to really get this right, you have to make it as written. My family (who normally turn their noses up to anchovies and capers) loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This recipe is amazing! First time using capers, and anchovies ever. Was well worth it! I'll be making this again and again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Puttanesca

Turn common pantry ingredients into a quick, delicious pasta dinner.

Pantry Pasta Fagioli

See how to make a traditional Italian soup using common pantry items.

Global Pantry Italy

Meet the main ingredients of the traditional Italian pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States