Pantry Curried Quinoa with Garbanzo Beans and Roasted Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Hubby and I both enjoyed this recipe. Very nice blend of spices. I used two cloves of garlic for added flavor. I didn't have raisins, so I used currants and they worked very well. I suggest using a little less than 2 cups of broth. My quinoa was done and there was still quite a bit of liquid left which led to a bit of a mushy texture. The only change I would make is to use fresh cilantro. The 1/2 tsp of dried cilantro added no flavor. I loved the roasted red peppers mixed in and the crunch from the almonds. This quinoa would also be good served cold the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Outstanding flavors. After the allotted time there was extra liquid as mentioned by another reviewer, I left the pot on med-low with the lid off and evaporated the extra, stirring a few times. Roasted my own peppers and a couple heads of garlic, then squeezed a few cloves into the dish since we love garlic. The crunch of the nuts is necessary for some variation, so if you don't prefers nuts maybe add something else with some crunch. Served cold, this would be great with diced cucumber. I also thought it could be brightened up just a bit, so we served with crumbled feta atop. Will definitely make this again and look forward to having cold leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I really liked this recipe. My kids thought it was ok. Next time to make it more kid friendly I will use dried cherries and sunflower seeds instead of raisins and nuts. I also sauteed bell pepper with the onion (yellow) instead of using roasted pepper. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fruitport, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This was delicious! I didn't have a few ingredients like the cilantro, ginger, or almonds, but it was delicious either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitnVeggieNazi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Made it just like it says, and it turned out amazing! Think I might add a few more peppers and raisins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
different way to eat quinoa but you have to like curry. my 2 year old liked it, 5 year old did not. I thought it was pretty yummy. followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Very good! I doubled spice but I loved and family liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
This makes a very nice lunch dish! It is quick and easy to whip up. I used chicken broth since I had no vegetable broth. I also used kidney beans for the same reasons. Looking back, I probably would have added the kidney beans towards the end of the cooking to make them less mushy. I also would have used fresh red bell pepper instead of the roasted ones. I think it would have added some nice texture with the crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This is so much better than I could have imagined. I used water because I didn't have broth, bottled roasted peppers and frozen cilantro. I also added a large sliced portabello mushroom to the onions in the beginning and you couldn't detect it later on. Its a great side dish and meal and I'm seriously considering adding it to the Thanksgiving table (the raisins remind me of stuffing for some reason!). I increased the seasonings slightly and I would add carrots next time. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Really good and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Easy Roasted Peppers

Discover a simple way to roast and peel peppers.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States