Pantry Curried Quinoa with Garbanzo Beans and Roasted Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Hubby and I both enjoyed this recipe. Very nice blend of spices. I used two cloves of garlic for added flavor. I didn't have raisins, so I used currants and they worked very well. I suggest using a little less than 2 cups of broth. My quinoa was done and there was still quite a bit of liquid left which led to a bit of a mushy texture. The only change I would make is to use fresh cilantro. The 1/2 tsp of dried cilantro added no flavor. I loved the roasted red peppers mixed in and the crunch from the almonds. This quinoa would also be good served cold the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This was delicious! I didn't have a few ingredients like the cilantro, ginger, or almonds, but it was delicious either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitnVeggieNazi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I really liked this recipe. My kids thought it was ok. Next time to make it more kid friendly I will use dried cherries and sunflower seeds instead of raisins and nuts. I also sauteed bell pepper with the onion (yellow) instead of using roasted pepper. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fruitport, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Very good! I doubled spice but I loved and family liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I liked this recipe, but think it had too much curry powder. We didn't have any so we used chili powder, and cut it way down because we don't like too much heat. We could also have cut out the red peppers; I think that they are not necessary. But the rest of the flavors are great. We didn't have raisins, and didn't want so much sugar so we used slightly sweetened cranberries, and I forgot to toast the almonds, but it was still very good, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hazel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Great! I had everything except for cilantro. I love curry. I love quinoa. This is a no-fail side or main!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lelena109
Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Our family thoroughly enjoyed this flavourful recipe. It is healthy,easy to prepare and makes a nutritious vegetarian main course. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I recipe last night and it was really good. Very healthy and delicious. Even my kids liked it. I made a mistake in using a real ginger because I didn't have the powder ones. it had some light bitter after taste from the ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I just made this for the first time and slightly altered it (I already had the quinoa cooked, didn't saute onions and didn't have curry) but it was still delicious! It was even better the next day. I want to make it again but I want to follow the instructions. I'm sure it's even better. Very easy to make. Worthwhile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was a great side dish!! I didn't have a fresh onion so I used onion powder. I added diced carrots and celery too. We were also fresh out of almonds and raisins. Orange flavored cranberries worked great. I don't usually have vegetable stock so we used chicken instead and no added salt. Even my pickiest eater gobbled it up. This is a definite keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Easy Roasted Peppers

Discover a simple way to roast and peel peppers.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States