Panko Crusted Mashed Potato Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
It was messy I'd have to admit, and it sort of fell apart when i dredged it in the egg. The overall texture was super crunchy though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I made this and it was great, though I didn't use the egg and added a tablespoon of Dijon mustard. It was amazing!! Also, I baked them in the oven instead of pan-frying them. It makes them healthier, but next time I will try the pan-fried version ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I liked this recipe. i used chakalaka(A blend of Syrah, Mourvedre, Carignan, Petite Syrah, Grenache and Tannat) spice in place of black pepper and my family love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gilzam
Home Town: Lusaka, Lusaka, Zambia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This is a creative side dish, but wayyyyyy to MESSY! not worth it, My mashed potatoes are very creamy and with that style potatoes to work with this did not work at all. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
These were great! I took other reviewers advice and only use 1 egg and then dipped in 1 egg before rolling in the Panko. I added cheese and 1 TB of dry ranch dressing and some salt. I cooked the onion to golden brown before adding for extra flavor. Definitely spray your hands so you can roll them and they wont stick. I fried in EVOO/butter mix. Definitely a keep in my house!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wonder Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Royse City, Texas, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
While this was a tad messy. It turned out well from what my family said. I thought it was to peppery myself. And ended up making not just a double batch, but a half a batch more on top of that to knock out some of the pepper, because that's all I could taste in the mixing round. I also minced the onions in this recipe. But again everyone else told me that the pepper flavor was just fine and went for seconds. The thing I would recommend to others when it comes to dredging method with the egg dipping part. Is use a small but shallow dish for the eggs when dipping the patty into it. And use a spatula to handle and flip to coat the egg onto both sides. If not, you are going to have to be very creative not to have your patty broken up and just a ploppy mess. Just warning others. But We did like the recipe. I can see making this again but still not adding as much black pepper into this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Delicious, but mechanics of process didn't work for me. After having problems with patties, I oiled my hands, formed 1/3 C balls which I rolled in the flour, egg & Panko crumbs. Only when these were all prepared did I add them to the skillet and gently flatten with a spatula. The second time I made this, I added 1 tsp each dried oregano, dried basil & garlic powder. I want to try this one with a blue cheese topping, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Definitely skip the extra egg -- it makes the pancakes too hard to handle. We combined the flour and panko together and that worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I used one egg and more onions and placed a slice of cheese on top just until melted. Yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This is the second time I've tried these. I figured I should give the recipe another chance and make some modifications and I think I'm going to make these yet again and modify them further. This time I used only 1 egg in the potatoes and did not dredge the potato pancakes in the flour and egg. Simply rolling them in panko made them slightly easier to work with. Next time I make these I'm going to skip the egg all together! Unless you're making dry mashed potatoes (no milk and butter) there really is no need for the additional moisture from the egg. Just add the flavourings, form and roll in the panko. It doesn't need anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States