Panko Crusted Mashed Potato Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Made many potato pancakes from left over mashed potatoes that I have saved in freezer, but this is husband's favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I had leftover “Loaded Mashed Potatoes,” which were simply ideal for this recipe. Because I didn’t want to risk the cakes being too gloppy I added no egg. Also, it didn’t seem critical to coat the cakes in flour and egg first, so I just immediately coated them in the panko bread crumbs and it worked out just fine. These were so flavorful and delicious, albeit a little on the fragile side. Hubs thought they were better than most of this type, less greasy, he thought. Maybe it was the panko bread crumbs that made the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Tastes yummy and very easy to make! Best way to use leftover mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I didn't use any eggs or flour. I wanted to taste the potatoes. I sauteed some onions and seasoned the mashed potatoes to my liking before I rolled them into balls, then rolled them in the panko crumbs. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Gave these potato cakes an Italian twist. I mixed in some grated Pecorino Romano cheese, breaded with Italian panko crumbs, garnished with chopped basil, and drizzled the mashed potato cakes with marinara. Made a very nice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Excellent recipe. Only variation for me was sauteed onion and small handful of shreded chedar cheese. Will make again. perfect for left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I made these for dinner tonight with leftover mashed potatoes. I followed the recipe ingredients but I found the panko browned very quickly, before the potatoes were heated through, so I put them in the oven to heat through (I did make them quite large though). We haven't eaten yet, but I did sneak one and it was very tasty. I think next time I might add more onions and maybe some garlic. All in all, this is a good recipe to use leftover mashed potatoes and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by davebuoy
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Wonderful basic recipe. You can jazz it up, but the most important tip is to make the potatoes a little stiff. (not as much cream as usual).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davebuoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
These were very good. I was a great way to use up some leftover mashed potatoes. I did not add the 1 egg to the mashed potatoes, they would have been too wet that way. They were a little difficult to coat with the bread crumbs and get to the pan without falling a part. I just made them very small so that helped in keeping them together. I also add a little shredded cheese to the mixture before I formed them into patties. They tasted great, I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
My husband and I really liked these. I added extra onion grated finely in the food processor, salt and pepper. I skipped the flour and egg for dredging and did have to add some flour to the mix to get it firmer and easier to work with. I formed the mix into a ball, rolled in the panko crumbs, and put in the oil. Then I flattened with the spatula. Make sure the first side is crispy before turning. I was making open faced hot pork sandwiches to go with these but my hubby just put the pork and gravy over the potato cakes. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States