Pani Popo (Hawaiian Coconut Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Mama Rivas aka Pablo's Hottie
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Deliciuos! Omitted the sugar as the condensed milk is sweet enough. Wish I could have remembered to top it with the coconut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Rivas aka Pablo's Hottie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
These were amazing! I used Rhodes white rolls and just let them thaw and rise according to the package - I also used 20 rolls in a 9x13 pan. To make them a little more figure friendly I used light coconut milk, the fat free condensed milk and only 1/2 C of sugar. We had a luau this weekend and these were an awesome finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Very tasty. Yes the bottoms are soggy, but they are meant to be. These are delicious. Made them for Easter and all 12 got gobbled up by 6 people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I made 16 rolls as I was having 8 people over and wanted everyone to have seconds. Did not double the coconut sauce and it was perfect. These are fantastic, everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttteri66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Good recipe. This is in fact a Samoan recipe and for it to be authentic the rolls are usually made with flour, sugar, water, and yeast. The frozen rolls are a good alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BellaCanCook
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
These are great! I made a few changes to fit what I had on hand. I used a hot roll mix instead of the frozen rolls. I used the bread machine to make the dough and then made different sized balls and put them in a 9x13 pan. I let them rise for probably an hour and a half. I didn't have any coconut milk but I had cream of coconut so I used that mixed with some vanilla cream and a little bit of coconut flakes.I Poured mixture over the rolls until they were just covered and still baked them at 350 for 30 min and they came out perfect! Glazed on top and just a little soggy on the bottom but not too much! I will definitley make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaCanCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HCBYRD
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
My family loves this recipe!... I like to put about 5 tbsp of sweetened condensed milk instead of just 3... I have also tried this with thawed out frozen yeast roll dough and with frozen yeast rolls that were already cooked... both were yummy... definitely try this recipe if you like coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HCBYRD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Surely there has to be a better bread than dinner rolls for this. The sauce is delicious but would have been far better on cake or something. Don't get me wrong - it was delicious, but it really tasted like this amazing sauce baked with really crappy dinner rolls. I will have to try again, but I'd like to know what other people are using for their bread (white rolls? kaiser? egg rolls? yeast rolls? crescent rolls?) Any help would be greatly appreciated. Otherwise I am going to get fat trying this recipe out over and over again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craigandsherry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Yummy and easy! We actually wanted MORE milk in the pan! This Samoan dish is supposed to be wet and sticky. That's why it's so good. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This recipe was great. Just one thing, calling it Hawaiian is misleading. It's actually a SAMOAN dish...anyway to change that? That being said, growing up in Hawaii and marrying into a Samoan family, I've eaten plenty of Pani Popo over the years...your recipe for it is WONDERFUL! PLEASE, PLEASE don't let the soggy-ness turn you off. It is supposed to be that way. Infact, when we make it, we try to make sure that the coconut milk mixture is almost level with the rolls before we put it in the oven. You can't have too much of a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States