Pani Popo (Hawaiian Coconut Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
We had a tiki party for our housewarming and I wanted to add a few "authentic" dishes to the mix and this was an absolute hit! All the guests loved it, despite me leaving them in too long!!! I used a whole can of coconut milk and about half a can of condensed milk then added shredded coconut on top of twelve risen dinner rolls. The only thing slightly misleading is the rising time of the rolls - check the packet as I was expecting them to take two hours and they took more like three! My fault for not checking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeraly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
mmmmm sweet but not too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I tried this recipe and it is a great! It is a delicious dessert, however Pani Popo is of Samoan origin which is another island in the South Pacific. I've also seen it listed as a Polynesian desert which is more broad but not inaccurate. So this is purely informational. Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
We made these to cook like our homemade cinnamon rolls. Coat bottom of the pan with 1 stick of softened butter. We use 12 of the Rhodes frozen rolls. Use the sugar in the recipe to roll the dough in. Place them in the pan and let rise. Meanwhile mix the coconut milk with 4 TBS of the sweetened condensed milk, pour only half of the mix over the rolls and bake accordingly. When you take them out of the oven use a fork to seperate the rolls and flip them over, so that the tops are facedown in the sauce. Remove rolls from pan and pour remaining coconut milk into the pan to "deglaze it" pour this over the rolls and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I'm making this recipe using my own recipe for dinner rolls (they're rising right now).. and i just made the sauce. I sampled it (I shouldnt have - BAD idea) and its SO good, it made me feel all happy-funny inside...i had to double check all the ingredients were alcohol free (they were) haha i just know this is gonna be good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and it was wonderful! Gooey on the bottom as it is supposed to be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarmagnolia98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Gooooooood and easy! It is sticky on the bottom and tastes very good if you drizzle a bit onto the roll before serving. I used light coconut milk and since the only can of coconut milk available was 13.5 oz., I used that, increased the condensed milk to about 4 TBS and decreased the sugar a tad below 3/4 of a cup. I used 12 rolls and that seems like a good amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I made these to taste test, and also to take to a couple from Sunday School. They were fabulous! I used 13.5 ounces of coconut milk, 1/2 cup of sugar and five tablespoons of sweetened condensed milk. Yum! The "sauce" is almost like haupia (Hawaiian coconut pudding).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Crystal
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
this is wonderful... im definitely making this every week... i used 1/4 cup sugar as was suggested and low fat condensed milk... it made it out to 150 calories per serving instead of 190. edit: i made this again, but with frozen dough i let rise on its own instead of pre-fromed frozen rolls and it turned out a million times better. i made 8 HUGE rolls and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
After reading the reviews I wasn't sure if I should use coconut milk or cream of coconut. Hmmm. Ended up using cream of coconut and Bridgeford frozen dough (do not use canned biscuits). Didn't want to waste a whole can of condensed milk so I just added some corn syrup and maybe a tablespoon of sugar to a half a can of cream of coconut. Made a smaller pan with 8 rolls just in case we didn't care for these. Wish they had a bit more coconut flavor but they are really good and soooo easy. They are gooey on the bottom and kind of crunchy chewy on the top. Will be making a full batch for Mother's Day dinner. I know I didn't follow the recipe exactly but if you love bread, donuts, etc you will love pani popo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States