Pani Popo (Hawaiian Coconut Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2005
ONO! I am from Hawaii and my Samoan friend makes these for me a lot. I am going to give her THIS recipe because by far...it is better! I love Pani Popo. Mahalo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This bread is off the hook!!!! I messed up because I bought bread that was already cooked, so the bottoms came out soggy. STILL! It was amazing. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
This dish is SUPPOSED to be soggy on the bottom! It's meant to be a sweet, sticky dessert - that's the beauty of it. I grew up in Hawaii and all the professionals' pani popo is wet and sticky. So enjoy and don't get discouraged!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This is excellent the bresd is so sweet! so full of rich flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
This recipe is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
My mom and I made this recipe for my new sister-in-law's wedding shower (Hawaiian theme). It was a hit! Everyone raved. They ate every last one! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALONZOJOHN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
I am so happy I found this recipe. I had poynesian friends growing up and their mom would make this. These rolls have definitely satisfied my years of cravings thank you so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Moab, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This recipe was VERY good. I made this for a Hawaiian themed party and they went over great. I used "Bridgeford" frozen dinner rolls and it came out perfect. They were also great the next few days. You might want to warn your guests though because they are a little sticky and at first glance they look like normal dinner rolls but of course they are a little sticky on the bottom but thats what makes these SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I love this stuff!!! I got the recipe from a firend and I make it all the time! I actually just use cream of coconut and pour that over the rolls. It shortens the prep time a lot and is delicious. Cream of coconut is in the alcoholic mixes section, though I'm not sure why. Try it. you'll love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This is so good, I had a hard time finding the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States