Pani Popo (Hawaiian Coconut Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2005
ONO! I am from Hawaii and my Samoan friend makes these for me a lot. I am going to give her THIS recipe because by far...it is better! I love Pani Popo. Mahalo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
This recipe is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
My mom and I made this recipe for my new sister-in-law's wedding shower (Hawaiian theme). It was a hit! Everyone raved. They ate every last one! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALONZOJOHN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
We really enjoyed this sweet (but not too sweet to serve with dinner) roll recipe. One thing in the recipe that was confusing though-it calls for a 12 oz. bag of frozen bread dough rolls. I couldn't find this size at the grocery store, so I bought a 48 oz. bag and weighed 12 oz. on my kitchen scale to prepare the recipe. Well, 12 oz. is just 6 rolls. They were swimming in the coconut mixture. I will be sure to use 12 rolls next time despite what the recipe calls for. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
I am so happy I found this recipe. I had poynesian friends growing up and their mom would make this. These rolls have definitely satisfied my years of cravings thank you so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Moab, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This is excellent the bresd is so sweet! so full of rich flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Gosh darn it I really wanted this to work for me but I wasn't impressed. The rolls were kind of mushy at the bottom. I will try again though because I want to like this because it combines 2 of my favorite things bread and coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This recipe was VERY good. I made this for a Hawaiian themed party and they went over great. I used "Bridgeford" frozen dinner rolls and it came out perfect. They were also great the next few days. You might want to warn your guests though because they are a little sticky and at first glance they look like normal dinner rolls but of course they are a little sticky on the bottom but thats what makes these SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This bread is off the hook!!!! I messed up because I bought bread that was already cooked, so the bottoms came out soggy. STILL! It was amazing. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
Definitely tasty and super easy, but the bottoms were soggy . If you can get over the texture then it's worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States