Pani Popo (Hawaiian Coconut Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I made these to taste test, and also to take to a couple from Sunday School. They were fabulous! I used 13.5 ounces of coconut milk, 1/2 cup of sugar and five tablespoons of sweetened condensed milk. Yum! The "sauce" is almost like haupia (Hawaiian coconut pudding).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Crystal
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
this is wonderful... im definitely making this every week... i used 1/4 cup sugar as was suggested and low fat condensed milk... it made it out to 150 calories per serving instead of 190. edit: i made this again, but with frozen dough i let rise on its own instead of pre-fromed frozen rolls and it turned out a million times better. i made 8 HUGE rolls and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
After reading the reviews I wasn't sure if I should use coconut milk or cream of coconut. Hmmm. Ended up using cream of coconut and Bridgeford frozen dough (do not use canned biscuits). Didn't want to waste a whole can of condensed milk so I just added some corn syrup and maybe a tablespoon of sugar to a half a can of cream of coconut. Made a smaller pan with 8 rolls just in case we didn't care for these. Wish they had a bit more coconut flavor but they are really good and soooo easy. They are gooey on the bottom and kind of crunchy chewy on the top. Will be making a full batch for Mother's Day dinner. I know I didn't follow the recipe exactly but if you love bread, donuts, etc you will love pani popo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mama Rivas aka Pablo's Hottie
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Deliciuos! Omitted the sugar as the condensed milk is sweet enough. Wish I could have remembered to top it with the coconut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Rivas aka Pablo's Hottie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
These were amazing! I used Rhodes white rolls and just let them thaw and rise according to the package - I also used 20 rolls in a 9x13 pan. To make them a little more figure friendly I used light coconut milk, the fat free condensed milk and only 1/2 C of sugar. We had a luau this weekend and these were an awesome finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Very tasty. Yes the bottoms are soggy, but they are meant to be. These are delicious. Made them for Easter and all 12 got gobbled up by 6 people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I made 16 rolls as I was having 8 people over and wanted everyone to have seconds. Did not double the coconut sauce and it was perfect. These are fantastic, everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttteri66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Good recipe. This is in fact a Samoan recipe and for it to be authentic the rolls are usually made with flour, sugar, water, and yeast. The frozen rolls are a good alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BellaCanCook
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
These are great! I made a few changes to fit what I had on hand. I used a hot roll mix instead of the frozen rolls. I used the bread machine to make the dough and then made different sized balls and put them in a 9x13 pan. I let them rise for probably an hour and a half. I didn't have any coconut milk but I had cream of coconut so I used that mixed with some vanilla cream and a little bit of coconut flakes.I Poured mixture over the rolls until they were just covered and still baked them at 350 for 30 min and they came out perfect! Glazed on top and just a little soggy on the bottom but not too much! I will definitley make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaCanCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HCBYRD
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
My family loves this recipe!... I like to put about 5 tbsp of sweetened condensed milk instead of just 3... I have also tried this with thawed out frozen yeast roll dough and with frozen yeast rolls that were already cooked... both were yummy... definitely try this recipe if you like coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HCBYRD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States