Panettone Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This bread had wonderful flavour. I will do this one again. The closest I have made so far to store bought panettone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Smiths Grove, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I only adjusted this recipe by using 1 cup candied fruit (because that is all I had on hand at the time) and 1 cup sultanas soaked in a little warm brandy. And, I found I had to add maybe a cup or more flour than called for in the recipe after the first rise because the dough was too soft to knead. But the finished product was excellent. The taste was delicate, not too sweet and the texture was light. It yielded 2 large loaves using the round brown panettone paper baking forms. This was at least as good if not better than any bought panettone I have tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Norriton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Isn't there supposed to be a little salt? It tasted like something was missing, and then it dawned on me that there's no salt in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
The more I make this recipe the better it comes out. You can use 2 8" cake pans instead of the bags. You will be adding more than 4 cups of flour. 6 is more like it. I have made this in all seasons and more flour is needed. The proofing is a bit odd but it does work just fine. Sprinkle, do not mix. Leave alone for 5-10 mins until dissolved. then proceed with the 1/2 cup of flour, cover with plastic and let sit 30 mins. The milk portion only needs to be dissolved. Now beat your sugar, eggs, and vanilla. Add the milk portion then the 'starter' you proofed for 30 mins. Use a second bowl to cut the butter into the flour. Do this by cutting the 12 tbls of butter into 1/2 inch cubes and toss them into the 3.5 cups of flour. Now use the paddle and mix on slowest speed and mix until it looks like crumbs. Now you can add the egg mixture then up the speed for about 3 mins. Your mixer will freak out a bit but add the fruits and now add more flour until it leaves the side of the bowl. Sticky is ok but it needs to look like bread dough and not cookie dough. Proof, punch, divide, shape, place into pans and proof again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I had trouble adding the yest to the milk it seamed to clump on me. I then added the yeast to 1/4 cup water with a little sugar. once it was dissolved I added it to the milk and carried on from there. The bread was to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by apurpleocean
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
great recipe. i baked mine in a 7x3 coffee can and the rest in little panettone molds that i purchase from amazon. you get a bunch for around 8 bucks. They make for a nice presentation. i also added a tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apurpleocean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by bobolynn
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was my first time making panettone after many many times eating store-bought. And I was very impressed! Tastes just as good as store-bought, plus you can customize the add-ins (I used all raisins, cuz I've never liked candied fruit). I used 2 round cake pans, and it turned out great, albeit a bit the wrong shape!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobolynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
My grandma was Italian and we made Panettones every year as a family tradition. This recipe is very close to the one I use. Yes, It need salt 1 1/4 tsp for 4 cups flour. Also the instruction are bit complicated. When I do mine put the flour in the center of the table open the center and add the liquids, yeast and eggs mix a bit with some flour to make a soft dough almost creamy.. Sponge for 30 min. Add the sugar, egg yolks, soften butter, and flavoring like vanilla, zest. Make a soft dough and let double in size. Add the fruits. Put in the mold and do a X cut on top. I use this technique and always turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
The recipe is great and it was delicious! I added a little bit more flour because the dough was not right. I used King Arthur Bread Flour. My variation: I used 1 cup of candied fruit including raisings, 1/2 cup of walnuts and 1/2 cup of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Absolutely to die for. I put in orange extract instead of vanilla. Like other reviewers, i added in more flour, 1/2 bread flour & 1/2 AP flour. The texture is so light & fluffy. So, so good. I made Panettone 1 the other day & found it a little dryish for my taste. Will make this over & over again,that's for sure. A 10 stars recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States