Panettone I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
This bread is wonderful! I made it last Christmas for our family breakfast and have been asked to make it again this year - I think it's become one of our "new traditions"! Don't let the idea of making bread by hand scare you away - this was the first time I'd ever made bread, and I found it really easy to do! I used glace fruit instead of the currants, and it added a nice flavour. I like the idea that this bread is relatively low fat, since it uses yogurt and no extra butter/oil/fat. Enjoy it - it's really rewarding to make your own bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I love this bread. I used to buy it every Christmas in Brazil where it's also kind of a tradition to have Panettone for the holidays. I wish I had the recipe for the "chocottone".. it's like pannetone, but instead of dried fruits, it's with chocolate chips and chocolate topping. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Me and my aunt tried this, and it came out FABULOUS!!! The entire family devoured it, and it was very easy to make, and to eat as well. However, next time I might add a little more sugar then called for, and I might add a little tip of honey, so as my uncle suggested. Overall, I think it is now a favorite in my family, and will be made very often!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Fantastic recipe! My only negative comment is that I too found it a little less sweet than what I have found in other recipes...it can be cured easily with a 1/4 cup sugar or honey. The time is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Really good and the recipe is very easy! I made at least 10 of these during the holiday season. I like it with more fruit so I've also used dried cranberries and golden and regular raisins. I have also added orange zest in addition to the lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
This Panettone turned out wonderfully! Thank you so much for the clear and cincise directions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRUCIFER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
I love that you just have to slap this into a round cake pan and it turns out looking kind of like a big mushroom. Very easy to make and tastes good. I think this would be a good recipe for a beginning bread baker to try out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
a nice moist bread! adding whole wheat flour also gives it a nice texture. It rose up high and we ate the whole thing in a couple of days. An excellent bread, great with butter and jam. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This was a fantastic recipe! I used 5 1/2 cups of flour, and instead of the dried raisins and currants I used candied fruit (fruit-cake fruit). It was the BEST recipe for Panettone I have ever had! Tante Grazie, que benissimo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This bread turned out beautifully. Ialso added some dried cherries and it was delicious. I would watch the time, mine was done early. Will definitely make again. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States