Panettone I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I LOVE Panettone and was excited to try to this recipe. It turned out great! I followed the recipe, but instead of currant and raisins I added chocolate chips for the most perfect Chocottone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpanielLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Encinitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Very tasty and very good instructions., Moe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Auger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I wish I would have read all of the reviews before I made this bread. The texture is great and I found it easy to make, but it doesn't have much flavor. If I try it again, I'll add honey or extra sugar like other have suggested. I replaced the currents with dried cranberries. The bites with the dried fruit in them are quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Excellent! I made 10 small Panettone (muffin pan). No need to put parchemin paper around the moulds. I will double the amount of fruit next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cammu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Granby, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
okay but was missing something. I think I may try it again using candied orange peels and more raisins. I did love the lemon zest and I bet it would be good with orange zest too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Tasty - I agree that it could be sweeter. I forgot to add the extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This was a fantastic recipe. I read the reviews before baking so I doubled the sugar to 1/2 c. and it was perfect. Also, when I got mine out of the oven i brushed some remaining butter that was mixed with a little honey over the top. Soaked in and it gave a beautiful, shiny crust. Thanks for the great recipe, this will become a tradition at my house....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Great low sodium recipe! I increased the sugar to 1/3 cup and the fruits to a total of 3/4 cup. I then soaked the raisins and currents in triple sec (about 1 tbsp) and microwaved it briefly to speed up the absorption. I recommend letting it rest for a few hours prior to use. Delicious low fat & low sodium gift for those who can't enjoy the usual holiday excess. Oh yes, I also ended up using quite a bit more flour (5-6 cups) to get a workable dough. But it's important to keep the dough slightly sticky so that the bread doesn't come out too dry. BTW, this stuff makes super French toast when dipped in the usual egg/milk mixture with a touch of vanilla. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
First attempt at preparing a yeast bread,found it simple and easy to make the panettone with suggestions from others. Panettoni had delicate flavor and excellent texture. Will make again and frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This was fun to make. I don't have a lot of experience with baking yeast breads. I was trying to replicate this fabulous tropical fruit panettone I bought last year, as it was very expensive. I replaced the currants and raisins with diced dried mango. Unfortunately, it did not come close to what I bought. It's a nice bread, but it does not have the heavenly tender texture that panettone should have. Oddly enough, I agree that it needs more sugar. I'm usually one who reduces the amount of sugar in a recipe. Also, I added 1 1/2 tablespoons of lemon and orange zest and I could barely taste it. I'm sure that it will make a tasty peanut butter and jelly sandwich. But it was not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States