Panettone I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I would recommend adding the extra sugar...it tastes just like plain bread with dried fruit inside. I also cooked it for 45 minutes, but it turned out a little hard and dry. I should have been watching it more carefully...but still, maybe the instructions should say 35-40 minutes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I have always wanted to try this bread but the recipes I looked at were very complicated. This one was perfect. I added more fruit and the zest of one orange as per my personal preference but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I baked it in a oval casserole dish and it was done in about 30 minutes. I think a regular bread pan would definitely be to small for this. Brushing the melted butter on the top before baking results in a browner, softer crust so if you don't like that you should omit that step. The taste and texture of the end result reminds me of Easter bread, which my family loves. Great recipe, give it a try and you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This bread is tasty but not quite the texture of pannettone as I know it from the colorful boxes put out on the shelves every year. I used whole milk greek yogurt (thicker!) and 1/2 cup sugar. I also added a full tablespoon of grated orange zest 1.5 tsp of vanilla instead of 1 tsp. I used a mix of dried apricots, raisins and currants. Next time I will add more fruit as the bread is kind of big and "fruit sparse" after it is baked. Making these modifications yielded a bread that smelled and tasted like panettone with more of a dense bread texture. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
To really punch up the flavor, I added an extra 1/4 C of sugar, and the zest of an entire large orange, in addition to the lemon zest called for. I also substituted chopped dried apricots for the raisins and currants, because Starbucks used to have Apricot Panettone and we adored it. Next time I make it I will also add an additional tsp of vanilla (to make 2 tsp total). I will definitely make this again - it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
The recipe for the dough itself is right on spot. For some it does not taste sweet enough, you can double the sugar if you want. I plan to keep the dough recipe and vary the type of filling such as walnut crumbs with rum and cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Excellent recipe! This bread is not very sweet, but it has a great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nour

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Very simple to make; sweet and moist. Delicious as a breakfast bread toasted with some butter and honey. The only thing I would do differently is cut down on the amount of lemon zest. The lemon flavor and aroma was a little overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheba

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Festus, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Very nice Panettone. Even works well in muffin tins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This was great! Although it didn't cook all the way in the middle. I had to keep it in longer. To kick it up a notch: Slice warm and drizzle with honey and then top with Hagen Diaz black walnut ice cream. So worth all the calories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I gave this recipe four stars because while it was good, it was not was I expected nor what I initially intended to make. The recipe was very easy to follow and the dough was easy to work. The end product however was much drier than I had interperted it to be from other reviewers and it had all of the sweetness (maybe even less) of regular bread. I will make it again with a few adjustments on my part, and hopefully something a little more dessert-breadish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States