Panettone I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I love pannetone, but I don't love the calories and fat in the store-bought kind. I was thrilled when I found this recipe because it seemed relatively low fat. I made this for my canasta group the day before Christmas Eve and the women loved it! I used clementine rind instead of lemon (that's what I had on hand) and I think that gave it a more authentic flavor. I also used 1/2 cup sugar, as suggested by others, and 2% Greek yogurt. It was very easy to make, but it did take a lot longer to rise than the recipe suggests (twice as long). Maybe it would be a good idea to use the "fast acting" yeast. Next time, I will probably add more fruit (maybe dried cranberries). My husband and I had some toasted for breakfast this morning and it was really delicious. Can't wait to try French toast or bread pudding with this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
okay, the taste actually very good but the middle turn out a bit doughy and the top is already very dark brown. will make again next time but maybe cover with aluminum foil and bake it about 50 min or make it into smaller rounds and put it on baking paper cup .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hime12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Based on other reviews, I increased sugar to 1/2 cup and added more raisins and 1 tsp orange extract. The dough was very stiff, my hand got tired even before I got to kneading. I definitely recommend using a mixer or food processor. It also took much longer to raise and I had to put the dough in a warm (lowest setting) oven. (It was a cold winter day though.) Incorporating the fruit was also very difficult and it didn't distribute evenly. Perhaps it would be better to add fruit at once before raising. I baked the bread in a cast iron casserole (3.5 qt) for about 35 min. This bread is definitely not the same panettone as sold in stores, but I was surprised that it still turned out pretty well and was almost addictively delicious when toasted next day. So, all in all, well deserved 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riga, Riga, Latvia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
good but too much work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I Love Spatula
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I added a few changes based on what I read. - 1/2 cup of Splenda(instead of Sugar) - 1/2 cup of Sugar free Mapple Syrup - 3/4 cup of raisins that had been soaking in Rum - 1 tbsp of the rum that soaked the raisins - 1 tbsp Mapple Extract - 1 tbsp Orange extract - 1 tbsp Lemon Extract - 1 tbsp Vanilla imitation - 1 tbsp Orange zest(whole orange) - 1 tbsp lemon zest(whole lemon) - 1/8 tsp cardamon - 4 drops orange oil - 2 cups of chopped dried fruits (prunes, dates, apricots) I heated the 2 cups of dried fruits with water and I used this water instead of regular water to add taste to the bread. Then I chopped the fruits to use later in the bread.I found that this raw dough can be stored in refrigerator in a tupperware with lid for about 3 days. I used 5 cups of flour. The dough was indead a bit sticky but I wanted the bread to keep some of the moisture. To make it easier to handle-AFTER IT HAS RISEN-I put the dough back in refrigerator for(minimum)of 3 hours. Cold dough is easier to manipulate. Then let it rise again for about 2 hours till it gets back to room temperature and doubles its size.I baked the bread in a small metal bucket (Walmart Home N Garden). I covered the bucket with parchment paper and sprayed it with butter spray.Yes, this bread takes some time between rising and baking. But if you want it to be tasty you have to be patient so it will acquire all the fruity taste.This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Spatula

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Great! I gave 4 stars because it really needs more fruit in it to be authentic Panettone. I used 1/2 cup of raisins and 1/2 cup of currants and it was much better. Also, for the second rising, if you put it in the refrigerator overnight and then punch it down and let it come to room temp (about 1.5 hrs) and then bake, it is perfect for the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hadorsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I would recommend adding the extra sugar...it tastes just like plain bread with dried fruit inside. I also cooked it for 45 minutes, but it turned out a little hard and dry. I should have been watching it more carefully...but still, maybe the instructions should say 35-40 minutes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I have always wanted to try this bread but the recipes I looked at were very complicated. This one was perfect. I added more fruit and the zest of one orange as per my personal preference but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I baked it in a oval casserole dish and it was done in about 30 minutes. I think a regular bread pan would definitely be to small for this. Brushing the melted butter on the top before baking results in a browner, softer crust so if you don't like that you should omit that step. The taste and texture of the end result reminds me of Easter bread, which my family loves. Great recipe, give it a try and you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This bread is tasty but not quite the texture of pannettone as I know it from the colorful boxes put out on the shelves every year. I used whole milk greek yogurt (thicker!) and 1/2 cup sugar. I also added a full tablespoon of grated orange zest 1.5 tsp of vanilla instead of 1 tsp. I used a mix of dried apricots, raisins and currants. Next time I will add more fruit as the bread is kind of big and "fruit sparse" after it is baked. Making these modifications yielded a bread that smelled and tasted like panettone with more of a dense bread texture. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
To really punch up the flavor, I added an extra 1/4 C of sugar, and the zest of an entire large orange, in addition to the lemon zest called for. I also substituted chopped dried apricots for the raisins and currants, because Starbucks used to have Apricot Panettone and we adored it. Next time I make it I will also add an additional tsp of vanilla (to make 2 tsp total). I will definitely make this again - it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States