Panettone I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
yes this isa a easy and wondeful bread for anytime of the year. I feel if its not too sweet the faster it will disappear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moonbaby1955
Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
WOW! We always bought Panettone for my 91 year old father every Christmas, but this year they were all sold out..none to be found anywhere! I was so happy to find this recipe..I will NEVER buy Panettone again! It was easy to make, and was hands-down the BEST Panettone we have EVER had!! I did add the extra 1/4 c. honey as suggested by some below. It was PERFECT! I used golden & regular raisins, and orange zest and also some finely chopped candied orange peel. Unbelievably delicious..and the joy on my Dad's face as he gobbled it up was priceless! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS AMAZING RECIPE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IGetPaidToDrinkCoffee

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
easy and yummy. i made french toast out of it and served it with a mascarpone/orange marmalade mixture. a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1wayin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillside, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Branchville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Instead of vanilla extract add "Fiori di Sicilia" extract. That is the true flavor of panettone . You can find it through King Arthur Flour.com. I also used 1/2 cup of sugar and 5 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I love pannetone, but I don't love the calories and fat in the store-bought kind. I was thrilled when I found this recipe because it seemed relatively low fat. I made this for my canasta group the day before Christmas Eve and the women loved it! I used clementine rind instead of lemon (that's what I had on hand) and I think that gave it a more authentic flavor. I also used 1/2 cup sugar, as suggested by others, and 2% Greek yogurt. It was very easy to make, but it did take a lot longer to rise than the recipe suggests (twice as long). Maybe it would be a good idea to use the "fast acting" yeast. Next time, I will probably add more fruit (maybe dried cranberries). My husband and I had some toasted for breakfast this morning and it was really delicious. Can't wait to try French toast or bread pudding with this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
okay, the taste actually very good but the middle turn out a bit doughy and the top is already very dark brown. will make again next time but maybe cover with aluminum foil and bake it about 50 min or make it into smaller rounds and put it on baking paper cup .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hime12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Based on other reviews, I increased sugar to 1/2 cup and added more raisins and 1 tsp orange extract. The dough was very stiff, my hand got tired even before I got to kneading. I definitely recommend using a mixer or food processor. It also took much longer to raise and I had to put the dough in a warm (lowest setting) oven. (It was a cold winter day though.) Incorporating the fruit was also very difficult and it didn't distribute evenly. Perhaps it would be better to add fruit at once before raising. I baked the bread in a cast iron casserole (3.5 qt) for about 35 min. This bread is definitely not the same panettone as sold in stores, but I was surprised that it still turned out pretty well and was almost addictively delicious when toasted next day. So, all in all, well deserved 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riga, Riga, Latvia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
good but too much work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I Love Spatula
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I added a few changes based on what I read. - 1/2 cup of Splenda(instead of Sugar) - 1/2 cup of Sugar free Mapple Syrup - 3/4 cup of raisins that had been soaking in Rum - 1 tbsp of the rum that soaked the raisins - 1 tbsp Mapple Extract - 1 tbsp Orange extract - 1 tbsp Lemon Extract - 1 tbsp Vanilla imitation - 1 tbsp Orange zest(whole orange) - 1 tbsp lemon zest(whole lemon) - 1/8 tsp cardamon - 4 drops orange oil - 2 cups of chopped dried fruits (prunes, dates, apricots) I heated the 2 cups of dried fruits with water and I used this water instead of regular water to add taste to the bread. Then I chopped the fruits to use later in the bread.I found that this raw dough can be stored in refrigerator in a tupperware with lid for about 3 days. I used 5 cups of flour. The dough was indead a bit sticky but I wanted the bread to keep some of the moisture. To make it easier to handle-AFTER IT HAS RISEN-I put the dough back in refrigerator for(minimum)of 3 hours. Cold dough is easier to manipulate. Then let it rise again for about 2 hours till it gets back to room temperature and doubles its size.I baked the bread in a small metal bucket (Walmart Home N Garden). I covered the bucket with parchment paper and sprayed it with butter spray.Yes, this bread takes some time between rising and baking. But if you want it to be tasty you have to be patient so it will acquire all the fruity taste.This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Spatula

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Great! I gave 4 stars because it really needs more fruit in it to be authentic Panettone. I used 1/2 cup of raisins and 1/2 cup of currants and it was much better. Also, for the second rising, if you put it in the refrigerator overnight and then punch it down and let it come to room temp (about 1.5 hrs) and then bake, it is perfect for the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hadorsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States