Panettone I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BeetheChange
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I haven't made a lot of bread from scratch and was a little intimidated to try this, but I found it fairly easy. I substituted honey in place of the sugar and doubled it, and still found the bread to be not as sweet as the store bought kind, which was fine. I also used some dried plums I had and dried apricots. I also saw one recommendation to use Fiori di Sicilia so I bought some to use instead of the vanilla extract and the flavor is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Gluten Free ~ I followed this recipe but changed the 4 cups of white flour to 2 cups almond flour and 2 cups tapioca flour. I also used vanilla yogurt since many people mentioned it not being sweet enough. I thought it would add a nice touch of sweetness. My dough was too runny to knead but I scooped it into muffin tins and mini bread pans and let it rise still for 45 min. Then I baked it until it was a golden brown. They are absolutely fantastic. It doesn't look like they puffed like original panettone but they were still airy and so freaking delicious. :-) My husband decided to add candied ginger to one loaf and it was an excellent decision.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Very easy to make and work with...I made two one right after the other and in no time at all. I put chocolate chips in the 2nd one and orange and lemon zest...oh, and I also put in 151 proof rum...will be making these and changes them around to suit my guests tastes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Followed the recipe to exactly and wasn't impressed. Very dense and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chktrk

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ignazia Vella
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I have made it 3 time love it ,also I change a it a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Picton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Good with butter and jam, but just slightly on the dry side without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
The bread rose nicely and had a nice texture, but this certainly isn't going to become a favorite holiday treat in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
nice recipe, easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Living in the far east, I grew up with sweets having a more eastern pallate (less sweet), so I thought this recipe would be well suited for me reading other reviews about it not being very sweet. In the end, the panettone could definitely use more sugar. Also, the bread came out much more dense that I expected also. I was expecting something a little more light and fluffy. I even let it rise and extra 10 minutes right before backing. There's nothing like a rich airy panettone. The bread also needs more flavor. In my recipe I added 1/4 cup candied orange peels. If I did this recipe again, I would definitely add more sugar and add more substance for flavor (ie, orange zest, grand marnier, rum), possibily more than just one element would be added. The bread also is in real need of some butter. The yogurt just won't substitute the flavor. I appreciate the healthier aspect of it, but if you are going to eat something like this, you need to have flavor so it really needs butter. I will try other recipes before coming back to this one. This one isn't horrible, but it might need some personal adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Great!! I used orange zest instead of lemon, since that's all I had on hand. I also used a 8 inch square pan and milk instead of the water. Turned out sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smurfette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States