Panettone I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Fantastic recipe! My only negative comment is that I too found it a little less sweet than what I have found in other recipes...it can be cured easily with a 1/4 cup sugar or honey. The time is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This was a fantastic recipe! I used 5 1/2 cups of flour, and instead of the dried raisins and currants I used candied fruit (fruit-cake fruit). It was the BEST recipe for Panettone I have ever had! Tante Grazie, que benissimo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
a nice moist bread! adding whole wheat flour also gives it a nice texture. It rose up high and we ate the whole thing in a couple of days. An excellent bread, great with butter and jam. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Great low sodium recipe! I increased the sugar to 1/3 cup and the fruits to a total of 3/4 cup. I then soaked the raisins and currents in triple sec (about 1 tbsp) and microwaved it briefly to speed up the absorption. I recommend letting it rest for a few hours prior to use. Delicious low fat & low sodium gift for those who can't enjoy the usual holiday excess. Oh yes, I also ended up using quite a bit more flour (5-6 cups) to get a workable dough. But it's important to keep the dough slightly sticky so that the bread doesn't come out too dry. BTW, this stuff makes super French toast when dipped in the usual egg/milk mixture with a touch of vanilla. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
I love that you just have to slap this into a round cake pan and it turns out looking kind of like a big mushroom. Very easy to make and tastes good. I think this would be a good recipe for a beginning bread baker to try out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Really good and the recipe is very easy! I made at least 10 of these during the holiday season. I like it with more fruit so I've also used dried cranberries and golden and regular raisins. I have also added orange zest in addition to the lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
This Panettone turned out wonderfully! Thank you so much for the clear and cincise directions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRUCIFER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
Took TOO long to make. Really not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Grivner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oreland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Me and my aunt tried this, and it came out FABULOUS!!! The entire family devoured it, and it was very easy to make, and to eat as well. However, next time I might add a little more sugar then called for, and I might add a little tip of honey, so as my uncle suggested. Overall, I think it is now a favorite in my family, and will be made very often!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
This bread is wonderful! I made it last Christmas for our family breakfast and have been asked to make it again this year - I think it's become one of our "new traditions"! Don't let the idea of making bread by hand scare you away - this was the first time I'd ever made bread, and I found it really easy to do! I used glace fruit instead of the currants, and it added a nice flavour. I like the idea that this bread is relatively low fat, since it uses yogurt and no extra butter/oil/fat. Enjoy it - it's really rewarding to make your own bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States