Panettone I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Fantastic! I grew up spending half the year with my family in Italy annually, so Panettone, especially at Christmas, was a regular treat. This is a great recipe. I did find it a bit dry in comparison to the bought panettone that you can now buy cheaply from most grocery stores. However, it's a beautiful item to present to your family and say you made yourself. You can have it as dessert or with tea at breakfast. If you do the latter, consider making some biscotti too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Very very good. I made half of the ingredients and did it on my bread maker. Came out super nice. I'll just add a little extra yeast next time. I had to do a second one so I can try my mods :) I did the following: I used half the ingredients exactly and I did some mods :) : .35 ounce active dry yeast 1/2 cup warm water (110 degrees F/45 degrees C) 2 tablespoons white sugar 1 teaspoon Stevia extract 1 eggs 1/4 cup nonfat plain yogurt 1 teaspoon vanilla extract 1/8 teaspoon salt 2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour 4 tablespoons dried mix fruit 4 tablespoons raisins 1-1/2 teaspoons confectioners' sugar 1-1/2 teaspoons butter, melted Sweet cycle and Medium crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grisel Gallardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marljong
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Beautifully rustic! Shows off the loveliness of hand-made goodness. Love the texture of the bread--slightly chewy crust with light/airy crumb, brings out the delicate flavors, yet it's a bold bread. First time tasting and making a Panattone, so I don't have a reference point, but I adore it now! Dough needed an extra cup of flour. I used a bundt pan by making a hole in the center of the dough and it rose to a spectacular height. I will definitely triple the amount of dried fruits for my next Panettone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I added an extra 1/2 cup of sugar as suggested by other reviewers. The bread turned out beautifully-rose nicely and had a lovely texture. I made it for Christmas breakfast-something new for our family. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is a great holiday bread ( Giant cinnamon roll ) if you add brown sugar and cinnamon over the top. We have this sent to our company every year. I checked the website in italy that makes this bread and it is sold for 45$ each !!!! (Gentilini) Verry yummy!! Great to eat anytime and with wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
yes this isa a easy and wondeful bread for anytime of the year. I feel if its not too sweet the faster it will disappear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moonbaby1955
Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
WOW! We always bought Panettone for my 91 year old father every Christmas, but this year they were all sold out..none to be found anywhere! I was so happy to find this recipe..I will NEVER buy Panettone again! It was easy to make, and was hands-down the BEST Panettone we have EVER had!! I did add the extra 1/4 c. honey as suggested by some below. It was PERFECT! I used golden & regular raisins, and orange zest and also some finely chopped candied orange peel. Unbelievably delicious..and the joy on my Dad's face as he gobbled it up was priceless! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS AMAZING RECIPE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IGetPaidToDrinkCoffee

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
easy and yummy. i made french toast out of it and served it with a mascarpone/orange marmalade mixture. a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1wayin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillside, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Branchville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Instead of vanilla extract add "Fiori di Sicilia" extract. That is the true flavor of panettone . You can find it through King Arthur Flour.com. I also used 1/2 cup of sugar and 5 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States