Paneer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This is so easy its scary! I made a 1/2 batch...and for any metric users - it is 2L milk to 500ml of buttermilk. Will try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I agree with other reviewers -- this is a great recipe. I think you definitely need to smooth the paneer in a food processor first. I also found it key for the paneer to be very cold before the frying process, as it is much easier to handle. I left mine in the fridge overnight and did the frying in batches, keeping other portions in the freezer just before handling. I didn't cut the paneer as the recipe suggests, but rather grabbed a small amount, rolled between my hands into a smooth ball and flattened slightly before placing in pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Made paneer before, but this recipe is much better than any that i have ever tried. The buttermilk is different from the lemon juice I usually use but makes a big difference. . Let me give it to you straight, you won't know if you are doing it right while making it. When I first started boiling the milk, I thought I was heading down the wrong road. I kept going, kept stirring and added the buttermilk. It was like magic. I strained it for a few hours, used the food proicessor, and then stored it in plastic wrap until the next day. I deep fried it instead (have a fry daddy) and it came out great. This is better than the paneer in the local Indian Restaurant that my family goes to, so much softer. This recipe is going to save us a ton of money when we are craving good authentic Indian curry with paneer. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This was absolutely the easiest and best recipe I have ever tried. I have never made paneer, but I could eat it by the pound, and this is just too easy to do. Thank for such a simple to follow and wonderful recipe. I can't wait to eat it with my masala - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
I have been making paneer for years, and I have always used lemon juice to curdle the milk. I will never do that again!!!! Using the buttermilk adds such a softness and light texture. I can't hardly believe that I made this myself. It is the most authentic I have tasted. Also, I emailed Ami (the owner) and she mentioned a few mistakes in how the website converted the recipe. First, you do not need to knead the paneer on a cutting board unless you do not have a food processor. Second, the paneer tastes better if you let it sit overnight, and frt the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This recipe works out very well. You can also freeze the left over paneer for later use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
very good, don't fry them for to long or they will be a bit chewy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I absolutely love making paneer cheese. The buttermilk is a nice change. Try adding 2 cups of yogurt or a yogurt/lemon juice mixture to the gallon of milk for a different twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
This was a fantastic recipe!!! I put it to the test a little. Because another reviewer suggested that the frying was not needed, I separated the batch into 2 portions (recipe made a lot of cheese). I have to admit that the fried paneer tasted much better than the unfried. I like the lightly browned, crispy edges that help up under curry. The unfried paneer was also good, but didn't hold as well and lacked the flavor of the fried. If you are looking to cut back on fat, I guess it would be OK though you probably shouldn't be eating paneer anyway. My mother in-law is Indian and she had never use this method, though her mother often spoke of using buttermilk instead of lemon juice to curdle milk. She tried it and switched to this method also. This will be my standard recipe from now on. Thanks Ami, for submitting your old family recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
Hello, its me. I submitted the recipe and I would like to clear a few things up. When I submitted the recipe, Allrecipes changed a few of the steps which confused the process. First, this recipe makes two full dinners, or 8 servings of paneer for hefty eaters. The paneer must be processed in a food processor for the right consistency. You do not need to turn out the cheese unless you do not have a food processor (mistake made by website). The paneer should be chilled overnight and I cannot stress this step enogh. The last and most major mistake, the paneer should be deep fired, not fried in a shallow pan with a cup of oil. Because of the delicate nature of paneer, flipping it over in a pan will make it crumble. The paneer should only be fried until very pale golden brown. It will appear like it is not completely cooked. It only needs about 30 seconds to firm up. It adds almost no fat to the recipe if the oil is hot enough and it is fried quickly. The fried pieces can be frozen for up to 30 days in a ziploc bag after chilling. I hope this clears up a little of the confusion about the recipe. The website changes a great deal once submitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
537 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States