Paneer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
I have been making paneer for years, and I have always used lemon juice to curdle the milk. I will never do that again!!!! Using the buttermilk adds such a softness and light texture. I can't hardly believe that I made this myself. It is the most authentic I have tasted. Also, I emailed Ami (the owner) and she mentioned a few mistakes in how the website converted the recipe. First, you do not need to knead the paneer on a cutting board unless you do not have a food processor. Second, the paneer tastes better if you let it sit overnight, and frt the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
This as my first attempt to make paneer and this recipe made it very easy. I thought the paneer turned out well. The recipe I used for saag paneer wasn't so great (it was from a different website) but the paneer was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Made paneer before, but this recipe is much better than any that i have ever tried. The buttermilk is different from the lemon juice I usually use but makes a big difference. . Let me give it to you straight, you won't know if you are doing it right while making it. When I first started boiling the milk, I thought I was heading down the wrong road. I kept going, kept stirring and added the buttermilk. It was like magic. I strained it for a few hours, used the food proicessor, and then stored it in plastic wrap until the next day. I deep fried it instead (have a fry daddy) and it came out great. This is better than the paneer in the local Indian Restaurant that my family goes to, so much softer. This recipe is going to save us a ton of money when we are craving good authentic Indian curry with paneer. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I thought this cheese came out very good. At med-high heat in a heavy pan I think was too high, I had to turn down and let my cast iron cool a bit before starting again. This makes A LOT of cheese, I will half it next time. It was very easy and delicious and I will make it again for sure! Note that it takes a VERY LONG time to boil milk at medium heat. I ended up having to turn it up a little which i'll do from the start next time. Thanks, Ami!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This is so easy its scary! I made a 1/2 batch...and for any metric users - it is 2L milk to 500ml of buttermilk. Will try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This recipe works out very well. You can also freeze the left over paneer for later use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I agree with other reviewers -- this is a great recipe. I think you definitely need to smooth the paneer in a food processor first. I also found it key for the paneer to be very cold before the frying process, as it is much easier to handle. I left mine in the fridge overnight and did the frying in batches, keeping other portions in the freezer just before handling. I didn't cut the paneer as the recipe suggests, but rather grabbed a small amount, rolled between my hands into a smooth ball and flattened slightly before placing in pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
The recipe for Paneer is great but as an Indian myself and a great user of paneer I really don't see much point in frying the paneer. A better and a low fat option is to simply chop it and use it without frying. It is just as yum and soft. If the paneer is good quality the longer u cook it the softer it will become.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This was absolutely the easiest and best recipe I have ever tried. I have never made paneer, but I could eat it by the pound, and this is just too easy to do. Thank for such a simple to follow and wonderful recipe. I can't wait to eat it with my masala - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
This was a fantastic recipe!!! I put it to the test a little. Because another reviewer suggested that the frying was not needed, I separated the batch into 2 portions (recipe made a lot of cheese). I have to admit that the fried paneer tasted much better than the unfried. I like the lightly browned, crispy edges that help up under curry. The unfried paneer was also good, but didn't hold as well and lacked the flavor of the fried. If you are looking to cut back on fat, I guess it would be OK though you probably shouldn't be eating paneer anyway. My mother in-law is Indian and she had never use this method, though her mother often spoke of using buttermilk instead of lemon juice to curdle milk. She tried it and switched to this method also. This will be my standard recipe from now on. Thanks Ami, for submitting your old family recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States