Paneer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
No one has mentioned saving the whey! I like to drink a small amount chilled. (I know, most people think it's gross.) It also makes a fantastic flavorful, healthy base for soups and stews. Recipe needs a bit of salt in my opinion. I have also added anise seeds and chopped fresh basil for a change. Great crumbled on a salad or veggies like feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Kindle Cheney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Tasted good. But it fell apart when I tried to add it to a sauce. Not sure where I went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Hello, I used fresh homemade buttermillk in this recipe and it would not curdle the milk. I splashed in some white vinegar, which did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Excellent. Does need a bit of salt. I pressed it between coffee filters on a rack over night to dry.( I did not knead or use a proccessor) I cut it into cubes and made veggy and paneer shish kabobs. I grilled these with a brush of olive oil and a sprinkle of smoked paprika. Served on warm pita. Really delicious "grilled cheese"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Tried this version with buttermilk for the first time instead of lemon juice. This is also the first time I have used a food processor. It was so rich and creamy I was eating it out of the processor! Can't wait to put it in my palak paneer tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Very easy and very good. Perfect for Palak Paneer. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I quartered the recipe and used a coffee filter instead of cheesecloth but it turned out very well. I was impressed with myself that I made homemade cheese...and yes I am from Wisconsin :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiechef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Loved this recipe. I usually make paneer with just milk and lemon juice, but tried this to see if it might be more flavorful. It was. I doubled the recipe, and that worked out great. I also added 2 tsp. salt while cooking, to see how that would taste. That also enhanced the flavor. The only thing is that I wasn't sure the curds and whey were properly separating, so I panicked and added several tsp. of lemon juice and hot water toward the end. No damage done, the cheese turned out beautifully. I never knead or process the cheese. I simply wring it out in the cheesecloth with all my might (running cold water over it to avoid burning my hands) and then I press it between two plates to squeeze out still more water, then I place the plates (sandwiched around the cheesecloth-wrapped cheese) under a heavy cast iron Dutch oven -- filled with water to make the pan heavier -- and leave it there for several hours. I got many compliments on my cheese this time around, which I made for palak paneeer for a large family gathering. Thank you for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Delicious! When trying to lightly fry it, pieces stuck to the bottom of the pan. I baked the rest--brushing lightly with oil and placing on an oiled cookie sheet--and that worked really well. I think I'll try w/o frying the next time I make Saag Paneer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This is the most simple cheese recipe I have ever made, I followed instructions and it turned out great, I did not however deep fry the paneer, mine turned out firm enough that I was able to saute it in 1-2 Tbsp of Ghee (clarified butter) as long as I was gentle about turning it. I will certainly make this again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Behrle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Union, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States