Paneer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by REBE424
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
PERFECTION! This is the best way to make paneer - try this method before using one that uses lemon juice or vineager which alter the natural flavor. This comes out creamy and delicious. I added salt the curds and omitted the food processor step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I never made paneer before but Had tasted it many time. I loved how easy this recipe was. It turned out sooo nice. Instead of making it to pieces and frying I just let it cool and used it in a crumbly feta like version. It was sooooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Enidora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
AWESOME! This recipe is so simple and ultimately delicious! You will not be disappointed. I've previously made paneer using yogurt - but it didn't turn out nearly as good, or produce as much as this recipe! I've since made this recipe a couple times... my suggestions? Don't bother with food processing OR the kneeding. However, if you do decide to food process, you do NOT need to kneed the cheese as well. However, I found that I prefer the texture and firmness of the paneer without either step... the cheese was less crumbly too! I use several layers of cheesecloth. Then I just squeeze as much of the liquid as I possibly can by hand through the cheesecloth. (Note: use a towel or a large wooden spoon to avoid burning your fingers on the hot liquid). Then I hang the cheesecloth from the kitchen sink and allow it to drain the remaining liquid and cool. After about an hour it's ready! I take the ball shape and cut slices and then cut the paneer into cubes. Since the recipe does make a lot of cheese, I refrigerated the unused portion. After 5 days I still had some left over... it was tastier than the first day I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
This is pretty much how I have always made paneer. I never really measured the ingredients though and have always just done it by eye/feel (so to speak). I don't do the food processing part of it though but maybe I will try it sometime...it just seems like too much work. What I do is strain the cheese into a cheese cloth, drain as much water as I can, wrap it tightly into the cloth, set it on a towel, put a towel on top, a pan on top of that and two or three five pound weights dics on top of that. I leave it that way for a few hours. By then it is well pressed, cuts easily, and it more like the firmer kind you get in the shops. Although, if you want a softer variety for stuffing veggies etc... then perhaps following the recipe instructions might be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This was my first time making cheese, and it was a very exciting process. The taste was good, but it was a little crumbly and difficult to cut neatly. Halved the recipe, used whole milk and the results could easily serve 6. The recipe was good, except I think I prefer the tofu-like cheese in restaurants better because they probably are easier to cut and work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
This is very tasty recipe. I made this paneer and added it to simple gravy and it was talk of the party!! I made some change. After let it drip for 3 hours, I Wrapped it in paper towel and put it under pressure. After couple of hours, I put it in tightly closed container and refirdgerate it overnight. Next day, cut it into cubes, fried for 15-20 seconds and added in a gravy. They were very soft and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Overall, very good recipe but it seems to like something compared to traditional paneer. Also, it is very delictae to handle. Next time I will try pressing the milk soilds and get more water out. Will update the review when I try different variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
very good, don't fry them for to long or they will be a bit chewy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
Hello, its me. I submitted the recipe and I would like to clear a few things up. When I submitted the recipe, Allrecipes changed a few of the steps which confused the process. First, this recipe makes two full dinners, or 8 servings of paneer for hefty eaters. The paneer must be processed in a food processor for the right consistency. You do not need to turn out the cheese unless you do not have a food processor (mistake made by website). The paneer should be chilled overnight and I cannot stress this step enogh. The last and most major mistake, the paneer should be deep fired, not fried in a shallow pan with a cup of oil. Because of the delicate nature of paneer, flipping it over in a pan will make it crumble. The paneer should only be fried until very pale golden brown. It will appear like it is not completely cooked. It only needs about 30 seconds to firm up. It adds almost no fat to the recipe if the oil is hot enough and it is fried quickly. The fried pieces can be frozen for up to 30 days in a ziploc bag after chilling. I hope this clears up a little of the confusion about the recipe. The website changes a great deal once submitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
535 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
This was my first attempt at making paneer. I followed the recipe exactly (but cut the recipe in half since other reviewers said it made so much). It was easy and the flavor was great. I let the mixture set in the colander for several hours until it stopped dripping, per the recipe. I also used a food processor and the consistency was exactly like firm ricotta cheese. I then refrigerated the paneer overnight. The next day I cut it into cubes and attempted to fry it. It crumbled. I still used it in the Navratan Korma recipe I made though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States