Paneer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I might have to try this again. This was my first attempt at making paneer (I was making the Palak Paneer from this site). I used 1% milk and low fat buttermilk. I think that might have been my first mistake. It just didn't make that much. I ended up with probably an 8 X 4 inch rectangle 1/2 inch thickness. I let it sit overnight in the fridge. It stayed very firm...probably too firm. Pan frying it was very easy. I thought it could have used some salt maybe...and the texture was too firm. I will try again for sure with whole milk next time. Whole milk update....came out about the same, maybe not quite as dense though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
EASY....FAST...well kinda....A TASTE GREAT, i didnt blend it and it still came out goo, make sure you deep fry, do not pan fry.... very messy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
It worked! It was yummy and doable... Yea India in my kitchen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakengrace

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I've been looking for an easy way to make Paneer ever since I learned to cook. Paneer was the only thing I would eat as a child (I'm South Indian) and I've got fond memories of it. My aunt told me to bake ricotta cheese and I didn't like the sound of it. . .I was a little apprehensive of this recipe because it looked to easy. BUT WOW! It IS that easy! Actually, it's easier than the recipe indicates - as another reviewer suggested - skip the food processor. Use cheesecloth in your colander when you go to separate the whey from the water. Tie the opposing corners together and hang it over the sink for an hour or so. Once it stops dripping, wrap it up tightly in plastic to help preserve the moisture. You will need to brown it a little before using, but it tastes good uncooked to. As other reviewers have said - use WHOLE milk - the fattier the milk, the more whey you'll get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Great recipe - my first time making paneer and at first I was worried because it looked super crumbly. I squeezed all the excess water out I could, food processed AND turned out the cheese and put something heavy on it for 30 minutes. But after refrigerating it overnight, it firmed up (even though still looked a little crumbly) and was NOT difficult to cut! I used 2% buttermilk because thats all I could find and it worked great. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I'm sorry to give a bad review, but I really did not care for this paneer. Paneer is one of my favourite ingredients to find in any dish, and this version seemed overly granular... the texture just wasn't right. I followed the tips of the submitter too, so I don't know what it could be. I'll be buying paneer premade from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I cannot believe how easy this was to make. Easy, but SUPER messy. Great taste, like other reviewers said it's a little lighter then the Paneer at most Indian restaurants. I definitely will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Super easy recipe. Watch the milk mixture closely, the instant it starts boiling it will try to bubble over. I let my paneer drip in cheesecloth for about 20 mins then set it in a wide bottom colander with a heavy pot on top for 20 minutes. I then kneaded in some salt for flavor and pressed it again for 10 minutes to get a flattened brick that was easy to slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Followed the instructions, very easy and makes a great paneer. I will never buy it in the store again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAIA3441

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I've never made paneer before, but this is an excellent recipe even for beginners! It's super easy. I followed one of the tips from a reviewer (squeezing the excess fluid from the cheese) and it turned out great. I didn't even have to chill it overnight. Just stuck it in the fridge for 2 hours and chilled it even more in the freezer for 15 minutes to get it extra firm. Great great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States