Paneer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Hello, I used fresh homemade buttermillk in this recipe and it would not curdle the milk. I splashed in some white vinegar, which did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Excellent. Does need a bit of salt. I pressed it between coffee filters on a rack over night to dry.( I did not knead or use a proccessor) I cut it into cubes and made veggy and paneer shish kabobs. I grilled these with a brush of olive oil and a sprinkle of smoked paprika. Served on warm pita. Really delicious "grilled cheese"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Tried this version with buttermilk for the first time instead of lemon juice. This is also the first time I have used a food processor. It was so rich and creamy I was eating it out of the processor! Can't wait to put it in my palak paneer tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Very easy and very good. Perfect for Palak Paneer. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I quartered the recipe and used a coffee filter instead of cheesecloth but it turned out very well. I was impressed with myself that I made homemade cheese...and yes I am from Wisconsin :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiechef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Loved this recipe. I usually make paneer with just milk and lemon juice, but tried this to see if it might be more flavorful. It was. I doubled the recipe, and that worked out great. I also added 2 tsp. salt while cooking, to see how that would taste. That also enhanced the flavor. The only thing is that I wasn't sure the curds and whey were properly separating, so I panicked and added several tsp. of lemon juice and hot water toward the end. No damage done, the cheese turned out beautifully. I never knead or process the cheese. I simply wring it out in the cheesecloth with all my might (running cold water over it to avoid burning my hands) and then I press it between two plates to squeeze out still more water, then I place the plates (sandwiched around the cheesecloth-wrapped cheese) under a heavy cast iron Dutch oven -- filled with water to make the pan heavier -- and leave it there for several hours. I got many compliments on my cheese this time around, which I made for palak paneeer for a large family gathering. Thank you for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Delicious! When trying to lightly fry it, pieces stuck to the bottom of the pan. I baked the rest--brushing lightly with oil and placing on an oiled cookie sheet--and that worked really well. I think I'll try w/o frying the next time I make Saag Paneer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This is the most simple cheese recipe I have ever made, I followed instructions and it turned out great, I did not however deep fry the paneer, mine turned out firm enough that I was able to saute it in 1-2 Tbsp of Ghee (clarified butter) as long as I was gentle about turning it. I will certainly make this again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Behrle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Union, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This is so easy and fast to make. I was so excited to make my own paneer, because I LOVE Indian dishes with paneer. With the paneer that I made from this recipe, I made mattar paneer (using store bought coconut curry sauce) and I was in heaven. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I'm amazed it's that easy. I used an old T-shirt instead of cheese cloth, my only change to the recipe. And I'd seen the author's post before trying it. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States