Paneer Makhani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by C. Pierce
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
This recipe was a good starting point. I made it as instructed except for that I used tofu instead of paneer which worked great! I also left out the chickpeas and added some frozen peas instead to give the dish a bit more color. The one thing I would change is the lemon. I ended up fishing out the lemon rounds, since I can't imagine anyone would enjoy biting into one of those. The dish also turned out a bit too lemony in general. So next time I would add just a splash of lemon juice instead. Overall, with some tweaks, I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
It was way to sour from the whole lemon.. Just wasn't great tasting at all. very one dimensional (flavor wise ) Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This recipe was excellent. However, it would benefit from a few little additions. 2 teaspoons of coriander powder, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, dash of nutmeg, 1/4 teaspoon of dried Kastoori methi leaves, 1 teaspoon poppy seeds and two green chillies (mirchi). After you heat up the oil (I used canola) add one teaspoon of poppy seeds and two chopped green mirchi with the seeds and as that begins to pop add the onion. I added the other ingredients as the recipe recommended along with my additions and then instead of half and half milk and yogurt I used fat free sour cream about half a cup and bit more tomato paste. Adding one cup of water to simmer will also make the tomato cream base less thick once the paneer has been added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
this is delicious!! man it's the kind of thing that's so tasty it's hard to stop eating :-/ at least for me. every bit as good as what i've tried in Indian restaurants. For me the flavoring was spot-on. I think cooked tofu would make a very good substitute for the paneer if you are avoiding dairy or cutting down on calories, but the panner was fantastic. I purchased mine at Indian grocery here in Los Angeles, but I think I've seen this kind of cheese at Whole Foods before. As I made this dish, I thought to myself, hmmm what kindof cheese would be a good substitute for paneer? And I decided the nearest that I've tried would be mozzarella. Mozzarella is softer and melts down in a way that paneer doesn't, but the flavor is very similar. Just a thought if you can't find paneer. I think peas would be good in this dish too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I cooked this last night as I had Paneer left over and the recipe sounded good to me. Only thing is that I added 3 puréed tomatoes so it won't be too thick. Also I left out the butter and half-and-half and just used milk and yoghurt. In the end it tasted really good and I will definitely cook it again. Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This was really good, but I thought it was too thick. Maybe add more half and half would do the trick? Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nevina
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Awesome recipe! It's very rich, but you'll never forget how delicious it is. I doubled the recipe because I knew it wouldn't last long and it didn't. I also added a can of chick peas/garbanzo beans for added nutrition and protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This is my first time cooking Indian food. I made homemade paneer last night. I chose this recipe to use the paneer. I was really impressed with how fresh and delicious this recipe is. The ginger and lemon make it very special. I also like that it didn't need salt. I substituted whole milk for half and half. It was still very delicious. I plan to make this again soon! Note: I've made this two more times since my initial review. It's become one of our favorite recipes. I can't eat half and half in more than very small quantities. (Oddly something in it hurts my stomach.) For this recipe the solution that I've devised is using skim milk or water to make the gravy. At the end I add a small amount of Nestle Media Crema (shelf stable cream that is inexpensive and packaged in small quantities). It tasted good with milk but is much better with even a small amount of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
This was really good! Just what I was craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States