Paneer (Home Made) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Pretty good! The flavor was great but it didn't make as much as I hoped it would. Next time, I'll double the recipe. Also, it was very crumbly, didn't hold together when I cut it which made my Matar Paneer look not so pretty. But it tasted great! Maybe I need to work on my technique . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Paneer is quite easy to make. Definitely requires whole milk. One thing this recipe doesn't mention is that the milk has to curdle. This occurs once you put in the lemon juice. I have seen it not curdle, perhaps due to less acidic lemons. Lemon can be substituted with white vinegar, especially if your lemons won't cause it to curdle. Toss some fresh cracked peppercorns into the curdled milk in the cheese cloth and stir before hanging for peppercorn paneer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I couldn't get it to work. Tasted great (made a great paneer paste!). Hard to get out of the cheescloth. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I have no idea what I am doing wrong, but I tried this recipe twice and I didn't get any cheese. It wouldn't curdle at all. I used whole milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I made this with fresh market bought real milk and kefir (for more fat) and made wonderful puree. THX for sharing. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Szeged, Csongrád, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandi
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Absolutely outstanding paneer recipe! I made one the other day (first time ever) with milk and yogurt only and it was far less flavorful that this more authentic version. Thank you so much for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I'd just like to say i think its brilliant that theres a recipe for Paneer here, because i think paneer is an undiscovered miracle! Seriousely, its so undertstated considering how fab it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Being an indian, we use regular milk in making paneer. I am assuming that Dostanden ment to put that in the recipe. Usually the higher the fat content in milk, the better and more paneer you will get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
the taste was fantastic, but i did not know how much the recipe was supposed to make - i used fat free milk and did not get much out of it (8 servings = apx 6oz of cheese) but i suspect if i use full fat milk, it is going to get a lot more cheese...but the taste is WONDERFUL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States