Paneer (Home Made) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I'm glad this worked for others. Mine was not very firm in the end - only slightly firmer than ricotta cheese. I'm leaving cheese-making to the experts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
the cheese made it curdled well and tasted AMAZING but was very crumbly. what did i do wrong? taste was amazing. i used it anyway but i would like to correct the mistake if i did something wrong....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WildAcreFarms

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I love Paneer, it's so easy to make! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I actually haven't made this recipe, but wanted to respond to DaraFG. The probable reason your milk didn't curdle is because you are using Ultra-Pasturized milk or Ultra Heat-Pasturized milk. UP and UHP milk will not set into curds due to the high pasturization temperature. I hope this helps. Milk that says only pasturized on the front will work. I hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
the flavor was great. for some reason, mine totally disintegrated in the dish i was making it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Great recipe. I used vinegar instead of lemon juice. I doubled it and got over 300g (about 3/4 of a lb) of cheese from 2L of whole milk. I pressed my paneer under a heavy pan and some cookbooks. I experimented with the paneer when cooking it. I'd seen other recipes that said to fry it before adding it to curries, so I fried half before adding it to my curry and added the other half as is. The frying definitely gave it a chewier texture and helped it keep it's shape better. The cheese was equally tasty both ways. I've also read that the whey can be used in soups and also for making bread, roti or chapatti. Will definitely be making this again. Where I live, paneer isn't available, so I'm very happy to have found this recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This is a great recipe, and so easy to make. Those of you who couldn't get your milk to curdle, it's possible that you didn't get your milk hot enough. I only got a tiny bit of cheese the first time through, then I put the milk back in the pan and reheated it. I didn't add anything extra, I just stirred until I saw the first bubble of a boil. I poured it through the sieve again, and it worked beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Crumbly the first time - allow curdling to take place while heating on medium - might have to add extra lemon juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Finally! A paneer recipe that worked! I made this yesterday and am using it tonight in Rosy's Palak Paneer. I did read the posts about full-fat milk working better. Since all I had was 2 percent, I substituted a half pint light cream for 1 cup of the milk. Also, the yogurt I used was Stoneyfield Organic full fat with cream on top. So I added a little of the cream from on top of the yogurt ;-) This did require more than one Tb of lemon juice in order to curdle, but it all comes down to how acidic the lemon is, I guess. The cheese is DELICIOUS (been nibbling at the curds that stuck to the cheesecloth... LOL) and firm enough to cook. Thank you SO MUCH for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Okay, here's how it worked for me. I made the recipe as it is written using whole milk and got some curds (about 3/4 cup) with remaining liquid that looked like 2% milk, not whey. It seemed like I could get more out of it, so I cooled the mixture down to room temperature, then heated it to boiling again and added a tablespoon of white vinegar as suggested by another reviewer. It curdled beautifully leaving a clear whey and more solids than the first attempt. My advice is to go straight for the vinegar as the acidity of lemons may vary from one to the next. The paneer tastes excellent with a nice firmness that held its shape when cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet-tooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States