Pancit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
As a Filipina (female for Filipino) who was born and raised in the Philippines, I tried this recipe and it's pretty authentic to me. I beg to differ, by the way, Oyster Sauce is not an authentic recipe for Pancit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
i haven't tried this recipe since i have my own "family recipe" but i had to respond to MOM2SOFIA's comment. i'm a true filipino. make pancits all the time and family makes it all the time since i was a young child. we filipinos DO NOT use oyster sauce for pancit. it's usually soy sauce and/or patis (fish sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Any noodle dish tastes better when you make the noodles with chicken broth as opposed to plain water. Fish sauce (patis) is the way to go if you want it to taste right. And maybe some lemon or calamansi right before you eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
One of the easiest recipes I have come across. Can be made for dinner that night. Or taken to a potluck. Always well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
This was YUMMY! My neighbor is Filipino and she cooks WONDERFUL! This taste like hers! I did marinate my pork in soy 3 hours before it was cooked. I also added garlic. My chicken was a rotissarie chick from our grocer. So, I did change things a little, but it was for easy more than anything! Hubby and 3 kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I actually make pancit all the time (my own recipe) and this one is pretty much identical to how i make it in regards to the veggies and soy sauce. I prefer mine with shrimp for the meat and not all that other stuff. I also disolve a little bit of beef bouillon in water and find it tastier that way(although thats not an authentic way of doing it) I find it lacks flavor with just the soy sauce. Sometimes I splash some fish sauce on it too. You have to play with it and make it to your liking. I do however like my fast food restraunt-bought pancit better than this recipe-or my own recipe for that matter. I dont know what else they put in it but it has tons of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I used boneless chicken thighs instead of the legs, added garlic (isn't everything better with a little garlic?)and instead of carrots, I used water chestnuts...I also used Bok Choy instead of regular cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
I think I might be a bit more accustomed to the "Hawaiian version" of pancit wherein BBQ pork and oyster (rather than soy) sauce is used. But overall, it's pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BugNBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
I have had "authentic" pancit, made by Filipinos and this recipe was close to what I remember. I find it easy to make and have made it several times. All my friends love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKNNRSE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
Easy and really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States