Pancit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I've been trying to re-create the flavor of pancit that a filipino friend of mine made several years ago. The taste of what I sought was etched in my memory. This recipe was a wonderful blueprint to help me on my way. Pancit is a very versatile dish and additional vegetables can be added ad lib. In my case I added diced baby bella mushrooms, 4 cloves minced garlic and 1/2 sliced onion. I remembered sliced celery and sprouts included in my friends rendition. As I only had boneless chicken thighs for meat that's what I used. I wouldn't hesitate to also include diced dry fried tofu. The cabbage and carrots are a must. To season I used about 1 T. fish sauce and about 1/4 c soy sauce. One other preparation note that I thought added to the flavor but not necessary was after soaking and draining the noodles, I brought to a boil my favorite broth and cooked the noodles about 3 minutes. This softened them enough to eat then, I just pulled them straight out of that pot into the skillet everything else was. I used a bit of the broth to help disperse the fish and soy sauce. Added another generous sprinkling of freshly ground black pepper and it was a wonderful and healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracey Ferrari Posner
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Tastes just like my friend from the PI used to make all the time. I have been looking for a recipe for a long time and finally, this is the one! It is so versatil and you can put practically any meats or vegetables into it. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Ferrari Posner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Everybody's cooking their own idea or modification no judge if they don't like the taste. Luzon Mindanao Visayas cook diferently to all Filipino's and Filipina's no judge to other pinoys recipe if you have your own recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Try substituting soy sauce with Maggi seasoning. It tastes better and is not as salty. Also, add chinese sausage cut into bit-sized pieces. . When you are ready to turn off the stove, add 1 tbsp fish sauce (patis) and cilantro. You kitchen will smell like heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cebu City, Cebu, Philippines
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This is the closest thing to authentic an American gal can make without having Filipina standing right beside her. LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Love it! Every time I make this for an event I get many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Spring Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This is my new favorite poor person meal and one of my new favorite overall go-to recipes. What do I mean by poor person meal? Rice noodles: $1.19 Bag of carrots: $1 Napa cabbage: $1.20 Green onions: $0.80 Misc meat: $3-6 Soy sauce and pepper: in pantry Total: about $7-10 and makes a ton of food! When they say 4 servings, one serving actually fills you up! That's $1.50-$2.50 per meal, and it's freaking delicious. I will never go to my local Chinese takeout place again for pancit when I can make it myself just as good for cheaper and get about 3 times as much. P.S. If you don't have enough soy sauce, fish sauce is quite good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Very close to how we make it. We like ours just with pork and shrimp or pork itself. My mom would use pork belly sometimes. The choice of veggies are carrots (long matchstick), cabbage, celery, snow peas, onions, & green onions. Oh, I also added minced garlic just because I love it. To prevent everything from drying, I had to add a little bit of broth. I love to squirt lemon or calamansi on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Excellent Pancit, as good as any I've eaten. Modifications: 1) Used one 16oz package noodles, 2) doubled the soy sauce to 1 cup, 3) added about 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger. This served 6 (unexpected company, that's why the doubled noodles and sauce!) with a little leftover. Everyone LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I used to work with several Filipinos who would bring this in for potlucks and I fell in love with it. I made the following changes to the recipe according to personal preferences: I used chicken breast and round steak in place of chicken legs, pork and shrimp, though I found that this dish could just as easily be vegetarian. I also added a little bit of garlic. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States