Pancit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
For all you vegetarians out there (or if you just want a vegetarian alternative), try this recipe without meat or fish by doubling the carrots and scallion. I was taught this recipe from a Filipina friend in the 70's and she called it Pancit Canton and used Pancit noodles (flour) instead of rice noodles. I have tried it both ways, but really do prefer the Pancit noodles. They can be ordered easily online at Asian Food Grocer or depending on where you live, can be found in most Asian grocery stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I altered this a bit. My dad was military and I was born in Guam. I grew up eating Philipino food. Good base recipe. I used fresh chicken-boneless tenders, pork chops and cut them up and salad shrimp. I bought everything already chopped and that cuts down on the time significantly. I use carrots, celery, onion, and cabbage. I cook the veggies together with soy sauce and cook the meat with soy sauce, olive oil, and garlic. I soak the rice noodles in a mixture of hot chicken broth and water for about 10 minutes then mix all the things together.. Add more ssoy sauce needed and just keep mixing until everything is well blended. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Wonderful!!! Fish Sauce vs 0yster sauce...makes no difference which one is used...it's tasty stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joydee Mccorkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I love this recipe. I have used it as written and with my own changes. It always comes out good. i love to add hoison sauce and chicken or pork. I also switch up the veggies for what I feel like. Great job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I have made this 3 times for my Filipino bf. He and his daughters love this recipe! Even better the next day (we love leftovers!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janaluwho

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Yummy, i jst made this tonite and oh its good...thanks ozzyzmommy for the delicious pancit..ive always wanted to make it but didn't know how, sooo will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Great !!! Tastes just like what my Dad makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
put the noodles in the pan and cook in chicken broth until tender it adds to the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I remember begging for some pancit aboard the Navy ships I served on. The Filipino cooks made it for themselves all the time. And the addition of a little bit of "pancit seasoning" does wonders to perk up the flavor of this recipe. I'm sure that's what's missing for those, like me, who think "just soy sauce" isn't quite enough. It's available at any oriental market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I found this recipe to be a little bland. I also marinated the chicken and pork in soy sauce for 30 mins. I added fresh garlic and onion and also used coleslaw mix and snow peas. After I soaked the rice noodles in water and drained them, I added chicken broth to the pan and sauteed the noodles in the broth. They quickly soaked up the broth and gave them a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele DArcy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States