Pancit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Try substituting soy sauce with Maggi seasoning. It tastes better and is not as salty. Also, add chinese sausage cut into bit-sized pieces. . When you are ready to turn off the stove, add 1 tbsp fish sauce (patis) and cilantro. You kitchen will smell like heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cebu City, Cebu, Philippines
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This is the closest thing to authentic an American gal can make without having Filipina standing right beside her. LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Love it! Every time I make this for an event I get many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Spring Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This is my new favorite poor person meal and one of my new favorite overall go-to recipes. What do I mean by poor person meal? Rice noodles: $1.19 Bag of carrots: $1 Napa cabbage: $1.20 Green onions: $0.80 Misc meat: $3-6 Soy sauce and pepper: in pantry Total: about $7-10 and makes a ton of food! When they say 4 servings, one serving actually fills you up! That's $1.50-$2.50 per meal, and it's freaking delicious. I will never go to my local Chinese takeout place again for pancit when I can make it myself just as good for cheaper and get about 3 times as much. P.S. If you don't have enough soy sauce, fish sauce is quite good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Very close to how we make it. We like ours just with pork and shrimp or pork itself. My mom would use pork belly sometimes. The choice of veggies are carrots (long matchstick), cabbage, celery, snow peas, onions, & green onions. Oh, I also added minced garlic just because I love it. To prevent everything from drying, I had to add a little bit of broth. I love to squirt lemon or calamansi on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Excellent Pancit, as good as any I've eaten. Modifications: 1) Used one 16oz package noodles, 2) doubled the soy sauce to 1 cup, 3) added about 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger. This served 6 (unexpected company, that's why the doubled noodles and sauce!) with a little leftover. Everyone LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I used to work with several Filipinos who would bring this in for potlucks and I fell in love with it. I made the following changes to the recipe according to personal preferences: I used chicken breast and round steak in place of chicken legs, pork and shrimp, though I found that this dish could just as easily be vegetarian. I also added a little bit of garlic. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
For all you vegetarians out there (or if you just want a vegetarian alternative), try this recipe without meat or fish by doubling the carrots and scallion. I was taught this recipe from a Filipina friend in the 70's and she called it Pancit Canton and used Pancit noodles (flour) instead of rice noodles. I have tried it both ways, but really do prefer the Pancit noodles. They can be ordered easily online at Asian Food Grocer or depending on where you live, can be found in most Asian grocery stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I altered this a bit. My dad was military and I was born in Guam. I grew up eating Philipino food. Good base recipe. I used fresh chicken-boneless tenders, pork chops and cut them up and salad shrimp. I bought everything already chopped and that cuts down on the time significantly. I use carrots, celery, onion, and cabbage. I cook the veggies together with soy sauce and cook the meat with soy sauce, olive oil, and garlic. I soak the rice noodles in a mixture of hot chicken broth and water for about 10 minutes then mix all the things together.. Add more ssoy sauce needed and just keep mixing until everything is well blended. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle U.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Wonderful!!! Fish Sauce vs 0yster sauce...makes no difference which one is used...it's tasty stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States