Pancho Villa Baked Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
I made it once according to the recipe and it was pretty good. The second time, I took a little extra trouble and cut up a fresh tomato and a couple of serrano peppers (instead of the canned) and it was super-delicious. The flavors seemed a lot more vibrant and interesting. My husband even gave it a 4.9 and he begs me not to make fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This is good. I used canned tomatoes with lime and cilantro. I forgot to buy cilantro so I didn't put in extra in. I seasoned my fish with a little salt, pepper, and garlic powder before adding the other toppings. I also put all the fish in one pan and covered it with foil instead of individually wrapping each fish. It stilled turned out pretty good. I placed thinly sliced lime on top of each piece. I would recommend adding more lime slices to give it that extra flavor. Ultimately, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This was great! I used fresh tomatoes and skipped the chiles. Went heavy on the cilantro, and added salt, pepper,cumin and a little paparika. Served it over the mexican rice III by Alansmom on this site and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This dish was just not good. Followed the recipe to the T. I just dont get it. It was soggy and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Tried this with my family several times. Kids and wife actually like it a bit better when I substitute the diced tomatoes and chiles with a fiery homemade salsa. Great recipe and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
My entire family loved this recipe. I skipped the olive oil and used PAM spray on the foil instead to save a few calories. I've tried this recipe with all types of white fish and its great every time. Try using pineapple or mango pico...both are yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellilmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Easy but a bit bland. Just tomato and fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I made this recipe for my darling husband and myself tonight. I found the fish to be lacking something; I haven't put my finger on it, yet. I will try this recipe again, but I will add some spices like salt, pepper, garlic, etc. My husband said it was good and he would eat it again. It's great meal to loss weight too, but I have to figure out what it lacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I fixed this for the family and used salt, pepper, lime slices and oregano to season the fish before I popped them on the grill. I also took the advice of 1 reviewer and used fresh tomatoes and canned jalapenos. Boy! This was a Perfect summer time dish. MMMM Toasted up corn tortillas and passed around the chopped cilantro and green onions. Delish! I would like to try this with salmon next time. Thanks Surfwench. Keeper!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I've made this dish several times and every time it turns out awesome! I usually sprinkle salt and pepper on each side of the filets and use dried cilantro because I always forget to buy fresh cilantro. I also sprinkle the top with crushed red pepper flakes. I serve it with Spanish rice and steamed veggies. Great filling dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southampton, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States