Pancho Villa Baked Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This dish was just not good. Followed the recipe to the T. I just dont get it. It was soggy and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Very nice. I didn't have canned so I chopped fresh, peeled tomato and one fresh chile, about a cup and a quarter. On the other hand I didn't have fresh cilantro so used dried. This fish is more poached than baked, as it cooks in the lime and tomato juices, which gives it a wonderful flavor and makes for a quick weeknight meal. My bf never had tilapia this way and really liked it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bristol, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This is good. I used canned tomatoes with lime and cilantro. I forgot to buy cilantro so I didn't put in extra in. I seasoned my fish with a little salt, pepper, and garlic powder before adding the other toppings. I also put all the fish in one pan and covered it with foil instead of individually wrapping each fish. It stilled turned out pretty good. I placed thinly sliced lime on top of each piece. I would recommend adding more lime slices to give it that extra flavor. Ultimately, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
hmm, probably the best fish recipie ive ever made/ate. Im not big on fish, but this tasted awesome!! I marinated it in the lime and cilantro overnight, and it was just full of flavor!! delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I found this easy and very tasty. This is one our favorite ways to eat any kind of fish now. Wonderful medley of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robinsky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle Fourche, South Dakota, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This was good. I used fresh tomatoes and serano peppers and threw in some mushrooms. I think next time I might not use as much cilantro; it was a bit to much for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
The fish I used was very thin, and the juices in the recipe kept it very moist. It was a pretty good recipe. I enjoyed it, but also felt it was missing something. I think I would skip the cilantro next time and maybe add some parsley and a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I made this for my 8th wedding anniversary along with another receipe on here for vegatables. It turned out great. The tomatoes add a really nice flavor to the fish along with the lime. We enjoyed it with a bottle of wine. Outstanding. I would definately make this item again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnkgj2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
I made it once according to the recipe and it was pretty good. The second time, I took a little extra trouble and cut up a fresh tomato and a couple of serrano peppers (instead of the canned) and it was super-delicious. The flavors seemed a lot more vibrant and interesting. My husband even gave it a 4.9 and he begs me not to make fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I made this recipe for my darling husband and myself tonight. I found the fish to be lacking something; I haven't put my finger on it, yet. I will try this recipe again, but I will add some spices like salt, pepper, garlic, etc. My husband said it was good and he would eat it again. It's great meal to loss weight too, but I have to figure out what it lacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States