Pancho Villa Baked Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Very nice. I didn't have canned so I chopped fresh, peeled tomato and one fresh chile, about a cup and a quarter. On the other hand I didn't have fresh cilantro so used dried. This fish is more poached than baked, as it cooks in the lime and tomato juices, which gives it a wonderful flavor and makes for a quick weeknight meal. My bf never had tilapia this way and really liked it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bristol, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This is good. I used canned tomatoes with lime and cilantro. I forgot to buy cilantro so I didn't put in extra in. I seasoned my fish with a little salt, pepper, and garlic powder before adding the other toppings. I also put all the fish in one pan and covered it with foil instead of individually wrapping each fish. It stilled turned out pretty good. I placed thinly sliced lime on top of each piece. I would recommend adding more lime slices to give it that extra flavor. Ultimately, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
hmm, probably the best fish recipie ive ever made/ate. Im not big on fish, but this tasted awesome!! I marinated it in the lime and cilantro overnight, and it was just full of flavor!! delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I found this easy and very tasty. This is one our favorite ways to eat any kind of fish now. Wonderful medley of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robinsky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle Fourche, South Dakota, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This was good. I used fresh tomatoes and serano peppers and threw in some mushrooms. I think next time I might not use as much cilantro; it was a bit to much for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
The fish I used was very thin, and the juices in the recipe kept it very moist. It was a pretty good recipe. I enjoyed it, but also felt it was missing something. I think I would skip the cilantro next time and maybe add some parsley and a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I made this for my 8th wedding anniversary along with another receipe on here for vegatables. It turned out great. The tomatoes add a really nice flavor to the fish along with the lime. We enjoyed it with a bottle of wine. Outstanding. I would definately make this item again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnkgj2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
I made it once according to the recipe and it was pretty good. The second time, I took a little extra trouble and cut up a fresh tomato and a couple of serrano peppers (instead of the canned) and it was super-delicious. The flavors seemed a lot more vibrant and interesting. My husband even gave it a 4.9 and he begs me not to make fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I made this recipe for my darling husband and myself tonight. I found the fish to be lacking something; I haven't put my finger on it, yet. I will try this recipe again, but I will add some spices like salt, pepper, garlic, etc. My husband said it was good and he would eat it again. It's great meal to loss weight too, but I have to figure out what it lacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
This was an easy dish to make and very enjoyable. I served this with Spanish rice, put a couple of spoonfuls of rice on a plate and set the fish and it's toppings right on top of the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States