Pancho Villa Baked Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I thoroughly dried the tilapia before putting it on the foil yet I still ended up with a liquidy mess. Too much juice from the tomatoes I guess. I didn't use much though. I would definitely recommend salting the fish before adding everything else. I have other ways of preparing tilapia that I liked better than this so I probably wont make it again. I was hoping it would have a good flavor with the tomatoes, chilies,cilantro and lime but all in all it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Yummy. I held the green chiles (I just cut up a tomato) but I bet it would be a lot better with the chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Tasty and healthy too! I used fresh salsa instead of the tomatoes and chillies mix and also sprinkled the fish with cumin for a little kick. I served it with tortilla chips and gaucamole. Yum! Next time I will put the tilapia in tortillas for fish tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Thank you for this recipe! I found it last summer - and subsituted some fresh garden salsa for the canned tomatoes, cilantro, and lime juice. Excellent! Have made this many times since using salsa I had frozen(the garden was very productive last year!). So quick, healty, tasty, and easy! Also try using mango salsa! For those who have found this dish runny - pat the filets dry before placing on foil and only add about a tablespoon the juice from the canned tomatoes to each filet. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizEtmor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Easy but a bit bland. Just tomato and fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I thought this recipe was just ok. I used the Rotel canned tomatoes & chiles that already have lime & cilantro in it. I usually love this flavor combination so I it would be good with the fish. It was easy but it was pretty underwhelming. Also, this produced so much juice per packet there is no way I would open them at the table unless you want a big mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
So simple to make and a big hit with the family. I had mexican style stewed tomatoes which I chopped and drained and added some tomato sauce. I'll definitely fix this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This was a hit at my house. I told the kids it was magical food and they enjoyed the foil packets. The chili's were a little too hot for them- but my husband and I really liked it. A recipe I'll be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This was great! I used fresh tomatoes and skipped the chiles. Went heavy on the cilantro, and added salt, pepper,cumin and a little paparika. Served it over the mexican rice III by Alansmom on this site and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
it was a nice change. better than ok, but not outstanding! will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKGRRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States