Pancho Villa Baked Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
WONDERFUL!! Not only was the taste phenomenal, but the presentation is fantastic! My fiance was crazy about it, said he felt he was having a gourmet mexican meal in a fancy bistro...don't skip on the cilantro, it adds the perfect flavor/touch. Usually served with wild rice & a homemade mexi-blend veggies. I make this about once a month, and it's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I thoroughly dried the tilapia before putting it on the foil yet I still ended up with a liquidy mess. Too much juice from the tomatoes I guess. I didn't use much though. I would definitely recommend salting the fish before adding everything else. I have other ways of preparing tilapia that I liked better than this so I probably wont make it again. I was hoping it would have a good flavor with the tomatoes, chilies,cilantro and lime but all in all it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Yummy. I held the green chiles (I just cut up a tomato) but I bet it would be a lot better with the chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Tasty and healthy too! I used fresh salsa instead of the tomatoes and chillies mix and also sprinkled the fish with cumin for a little kick. I served it with tortilla chips and gaucamole. Yum! Next time I will put the tilapia in tortillas for fish tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Thank you for this recipe! I found it last summer - and subsituted some fresh garden salsa for the canned tomatoes, cilantro, and lime juice. Excellent! Have made this many times since using salsa I had frozen(the garden was very productive last year!). So quick, healty, tasty, and easy! Also try using mango salsa! For those who have found this dish runny - pat the filets dry before placing on foil and only add about a tablespoon the juice from the canned tomatoes to each filet. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizEtmor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Easy but a bit bland. Just tomato and fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I thought this recipe was just ok. I used the Rotel canned tomatoes & chiles that already have lime & cilantro in it. I usually love this flavor combination so I it would be good with the fish. It was easy but it was pretty underwhelming. Also, this produced so much juice per packet there is no way I would open them at the table unless you want a big mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
So simple to make and a big hit with the family. I had mexican style stewed tomatoes which I chopped and drained and added some tomato sauce. I'll definitely fix this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This was a hit at my house. I told the kids it was magical food and they enjoyed the foil packets. The chili's were a little too hot for them- but my husband and I really liked it. A recipe I'll be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This was great! I used fresh tomatoes and skipped the chiles. Went heavy on the cilantro, and added salt, pepper,cumin and a little paparika. Served it over the mexican rice III by Alansmom on this site and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States