Pancho Villa Baked Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This recipe was extremely bland. I would not leave the limes to cook with the fish, it gives it a bitter taste. I felt it was better to squeeze fresh lime right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Very juicy results, a lot of liquid. I wouldn't serve this for "elegant dining" as the foil pouches are not terribly attractive. Overall, nice simple flavors. The flavor of the fish can dominate since it is so mild, it might taste better with something other than tilapia. I added cumin, salt, and pepper, otherwise I followed the recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betabear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Really good even though I had to improvise. I used fresh tomamoes, sauteed onion and garlic, bottled lime juice and threw in some white wine and cilantro in the end. Family loved it with fresh pinto beans and corn tortillas. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I added a can of corn to the recipe as well as a tablespoon of minced garlic and a tablespoon of tequilla on each fillet then seasoned it with a little crushed red pepper and served it over whole grain rice. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
My entire family loved this recipe. I skipped the olive oil and used PAM spray on the foil instead to save a few calories. I've tried this recipe with all types of white fish and its great every time. Try using pineapple or mango pico...both are yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellilmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I made this recipe with Birds Eye frozen stir fry mix which has onions and red and yellow peppers. The fish was deliciously moist and with great flavor. A big hit in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I just finished trying this and it is nummy num.I did add other ingredients as was suggested by another review.I just sprinkled the amount I wanted on.(salt,pepper,citlantro, cumin, paprika and home canned tomatoes) I also soaked up a lot of the juice from tomatoes and chiles so it wasn't so wet and soggy.It was very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Fantastic dish for summer time! I love to squeeze a lot of lemon and lime on top for flavor, but be mindful of using too much liquid, or can drain before serving, so that the fish is not too wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Made as stated. Very bland. Did as others suggested and had fish totally dried and it was still over juicy and sloppy. That would have been ok if it had tasted better! Won't bother with this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
It was ok...followed recipe as called for. Fish was bland. I'll stick to my other recipes for tilapia from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States