Pancho Villa Baked Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
great after a few mods I added: salt, 1/8 tsp cumin, a clove of garlic, more lime juice, sliced fresh mushrooms. I substituted: a fresh tomato for canned. I made everything into almost a salsa and let it sit for a while. Poured it over the filets in a glass baking dish, covered and baked. Turned out a little soupy but great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Excellent change up for Tilapia filets. I used a fresh tomato instead (more on the ripe side) and jalapenos in vinegar instead of green chiles. Great with Mexican Rice and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Took the suggestions and added 1 clove of garlic, 1/2 tsp of cumin, a dash of paprika, salt and pepper. Used 2 tomatoes instead of canned. No chiles or cilantro. Good flavour. I rated this 4* because with all of the changes this isn't really the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEMGIRL1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I thought this was pretty good- spicy and different. I served it with black beans and roasted corn on the side- really good. I would recommend making your foil packets a little bigger than the recipe states-- I had to start over again with larger pieces because my 8X10s were too small to seal off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Pretty good! I think this would be a five star recipe if you used fresh tomatoes and peppers, but as written, it's tasty. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This was very easy to make with simple ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I read many of the reviews before i made this recipe and did alter it according to them. I sprinkled a little bit of cumin, garlic (just a LITTLE bit), salt, and pepper. aside from this i followed the recipe exactly. it wasn't bad but it wasn't good either. Just ok. i will only make this recipe if i have too much lime juice and cilantro after i make salsa that i need to use up. otherwise i doubt i will ever make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This recipe was great, but i did add one thing. I used about 4 Tbsp of sour cream mixed in with the green chilies and tomatoes to give it a creamier effect. I also added some white cheese on top and placed in the oven for a few more min. and this dish had no leftover in my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I actually made this recipe with chicken and just baked it for 30 minutes instead of 20. It was amazing! Also added cilantro and a little lime juice to the rice I served with it. I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This is an interesting blend of flavors. I think it is a good base for something, but I didn't like it very much. Maybe changing out the canned tomatoes and chilies for fresh? I think mostly I didn't like the mixture of fish and tomatoes. The recipe was supereasy though, and clean up was a the fastest ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States